Looking for better solutions?
We promote dialogue between stakeholders.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

EUPATI Switzerland 2015

EUPATI Switzerland

Experiences and needs of patients should form an integral part of research

On 25 March 2015 nearly 50 representatives of patient organisations, clinical research institutions, the pharmaceutical industry and authorities met in Lausanne to exchange their personal experiences and views of patient involvement in medical research and development. This event provided an ideal opportunity for potential stakeholders to learn about the EUPATI project and ongoing activities.

The European Patients’ Academy (EUPATI) seeks to increase the knowledge of patients and patient organisations in order to become effective advocates and counsellors in medical research, for example in the field of clinical trials, government agencies or ethics committees. Patients shall receive scientifically sound, objective and understandable information about medical research and development.

The aim of the meeting in Lausanne was to gather interested organisations and individuals and lay the ground for the creation of a national platform in Switzerland. The platform will assist EUPATI in the wider dissemination of educational material and locally support the interested audience in acquiring the necessary knowledge to engage in the medical research and development processes.

The experiences in patient empowerment were touchingly demonstrated during the meeting by patient representatives who presented their personal stories and journeys towards their engagement in the health sector. Representatives from academia, the pharmaceutical industry and the local ethics commission explained their work and explored the possibilities of patient involvement in medical research and associated processes.

Opportunities for patient (organisation) engagement are still rare in Switzerland and the willingness of many stakeholders to collaborate within such models is still lacking. It is for this reason that the national EUPATI platform in Switzerland will strive to support the creation of opportunities for patient engagement in Switzerland.

Bessere Lösungen erarbeiten?
Wir fördern den Dialog zwischen den Akteuren.

Mitglieder

Assoziierte Mitglieder

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

EUPATI Schweiz 2015

EUPATI Schweiz

Erfahrungen und Bedürfnisse der Patienten sollten fester Bestandteil der Forschung sein

Am 25. März 2015 trafen sich in Lausanne rund 50 Vertreterinnen und Vertreter von Patientenorganisationen, klinischen Forschungseinrichtungen, der pharmazeutischen Industrie und Behörden, um ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen und Ansichten hinsichtlich der Patientenbeteiligung in der medizinischen Forschung und Entwicklung auszutauschen. Die Veranstaltung war eine gute Gelegenheit für den Französisch sprechenden Teil der Schweiz, das EUPATI Projekt und damit verbundene Aktivitäten in der Schweiz kennenzulernen.

Die Europäische Patientenakademie (EUPATI) soll den Patienten und Patientenorganisationen Wissen über die medizinische Forschung vermitteln, um sie als effektive Fürsprecher und Berater in der medizinischen Forschung, z. B. in klinischen Studien, bei Behörden oder Ethikkommissionen, zu stärken. Die Patienten sollen wissenschaftlich fundierte, objektive und verständliche Informationen über medizinische Forschung und Entwicklung erhalten.

Ziel des Treffens war es, interessierte Organisationen und Einzelpersonen zusammenzubringen, um eine Basis für die Schaffung einer nationalen Plattform in der Schweiz zu bilden. Die Plattform wird EUPATI einerseits in der lokalen Verbreitung des Bildungsmaterials helfen. Andererseits soll hier in der Schweiz das interessierte Publikum beim Erwerb der erforderlichen Kenntnisse unterstützt werden, um sich in Belangen der medizinischen Forschung zu engagieren.

Mit sehr persönlichen und berührenden Geschichten stellten einige Referenten ihre Erfahrungen im Empowerment und die Reise zur aktiven Rolle im Gesundheitssektor vor. Die Vertreter der Wissenschaft, pharmazeutischen Industrie und der Behörden zeigten ihre Sicht hinsichtlich der Patientenbeteiligung in der medizinischen Forschung und der damit verbundenen Prozesse auf.

In der Schweiz gibt es nach wie vor wenig Gelegenheit, sich als Patient, oder Patientenorganisation aktiv an der Forschung zu beteiligen. Auch fehlt es noch an der nötigen Bereitschaft der wichtigsten Akteure für eine solche Zusammenarbeit. Eben hier legt die nationale EUPATI Plattform in der Schweiz daher einen Schwerpunkt, um vermehrt Möglichkeiten zur Beteiligung zu schaffen.