Aiming to conduct more efficient clinical research?
We focus on transparency.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Symposium 2021

10th SCTO Symposium

Medical devices: Lost in translation?
8 June 2021, online

New regulations on medical devices

Following a one-year delay and the transition period, the European Union’s new Medical Devices Regulation (MDR) will become fully applicable on 26 May 2021. This regulation will bring EU legislation in line with changes in medical science, technical advances, and progress in lawmaking. In the wake of various incidents and scandals involving medical devices, the overall aim of the MDR is to improve the quality and safety of medical devices and thereby improve patient safety.

As the result of the mutual recognition agreement (MRA) between Switzerland and the EU, Switzerland has had regulation that is considered equivalent to the EU’s regulation since 2001. In order to maintain this equivalence, Switzerland also changed its legislation and adapted it to the new EU legislation. In 2020, the Swiss Federal Council adopted the revised Medical Devices Ordinance (MedDO) and a new ordinance on clinical trials with medical devices (ClinO-MD, not available in English). This legislation is intended to improve patient safety and ensure that Swiss manufacturers will continue to have access to the European market.

As a consequence of the coronavirus pandemic, the European Commission postponed the application date of the new MDR. For reasons of consistency, Switzerland’s new legislation will enter into force in stages as well. The SCTO’s 2020 Symposium on medical devices also had to be postponed for a year – yet its topic remains highly relevant in 2021.

Show more
Hide

Programme

Together with Bern University Hospital, the University of Bern, and sitem-insel AG (Swiss Institute for Translational and Entrepreneurial Medicine), the SCTO is holding its 10th symposium on 8 June 2021. National and international experts will share their perspectives on medical devices in clinical development. During the symposium, we will address many interesting aspects of this topic, including the following:

  • New requirements for medical devices: From clinical development to certification and market access
  • Focus on Switzerland: Where do we stand in clinical development? What is the regulatory framework in Switzerland?

During the second part of our symposium, we will look at the topic from three different perspectives:

  • Patient: A case study of patient-driven medical device development
  • User: User-centred design and artificial intelligence
  • Academic: Unique challenges with medical devices in translational medicine

In addition, our breakout sessions during the lunch break will give participants the chance to learn more about topics specific to Switzerland, for example about access to the Swiss market or what training is needed and what training is currently available in Switzerland.

The symposium will be held in English.

 

Online registration

 

Programme

Verlässliche Studienergebnisse?
Wir setzen auf Qualität.

Assoziiertes Mitglied

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Symposium 2021

10. SCTO-SYMPOSIUM

Medizinprodukte: Lost in Translation?
8. Juni 2021, online

Neue Bestimmungen für Medizinprodukte

Am 26. Mai 2021 kommt die neue Medizinprodukteverordnung der Europäischen Union (EU) mit einer Verzögerung von einem Jahr und nach Übergangsfrist vollständig zur Anwendung. Die Verordnung soll die EU-Gesetzgebung in Einklang bringen mit den Veränderungen in der medizinischen Wissenschaft und dem Fortschritt auf technischer und gesetzgeberischer Ebene. Insgesamt sollen nach verschiedenen Vorkommnissen und Skandalen insbesondere die Qualität und Sicherheit der Medizinprodukte verbessert und damit die Patientensicherheit erhöht werden.

Basierend auf dem Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der Europäischen Union über die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Konformitätsbewertungen (MRA) verfügt die Schweiz seit 2001 über eine Regulierung, die derjenigen der EU gleichwertig ist. Um diese Äquivalenz aufrecht zu erhalten, hat sie ihre rechtlichen Bestimmungen ebenfalls geändert und an die neuen Bestimmungen angepasst. 2020 hat der Bundesrat die Revision der Medizinprodukteverordnung (MepV) sowie die neue Verordnung über klinische Versuche für Medizinprodukte (KlinV-Mep) angenommen. Das Ziel ist, die Patientensicherheit zu verbessern und Schweizer Herstellern den Zugang zum europäischen Markt weiterhin zu ermöglichen.

Aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie hatte die Europäische Kommission die Inkraftsetzung der neuen Verordnung verschoben. Aus Kohärenzgründen erfolgt auch die Inkraftsetzung der neuen Bestimmungen in der Schweiz schrittweise. Auch das Symposium der SCTO findet mit einem Jahr Verzögerung statt – das Thema des Anlasses ist weiterhin von hoher Relevanz.

Mehr
Weniger

Zum Programm

Gemeinsam mit dem Universitätsspital Bern, der Universität Bern und sitem-insel AG, dem Schweizerischen Institut für Translationale und Unternehmerische Medizin, organisiert die SCTO am 8. Juni 2021 ihr 10. Symposium. Lokale und internationale Expertinnen und Experten legen ihre Perspektiven zum Thema Medizinprodukte in der klinischen Entwicklung dar. Wir sprechen dabei u. a. die folgenden wichtigen Fragen an:

  • Neue Anforderungen an Medizinprodukte: von der klinischen Entwicklung über die Zertifizierung bis zum Marktzugang
  • Fokus Schweiz: Wo stehen wir beim Thema klinische Entwicklung? Wie sind die regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen?

Im zweiten Teil beleuchten wir das Thema aus drei verschiedenen Blickwinkeln:

  • Patient/in: eine Fallstudie zur patientengeführten Entwicklung von Medizinprodukten
  • User: Benutzerzentriertes Design und Künstliche Intelligen
  • Akademie: Besondere Herausforderungen mit Medizinprodukten in der translationalen Medizin

Zudem bieten Lunch Breakout Sessions Teilnehmenden die Gelegenheit, einzelne speziell auf die Schweiz bezogene Themen näher kennenzulernen, wie bspw. Marktzugang oder Trainingsbedarf und -angebot.

Die Veranstaltungssprache ist Englisch.

 

Zum Online-Anmeldeformular

 

Programm