Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Swiss Clinical Trials Empirical Assessment & Methods (STEAM)

Lead STEAM Working Group

Prof. Matthias Briel, Department of Clinical Research, University of Basel

"Research on Research" making clinical research leaner and meaner

When the fundamentals of research are flimsy – with a poor evidence base informing trial design, its conduct, analysis, and subsequent reporting – trials and their results will be equally flimsy. Barely half of clinical trials recruit the number of participants envisaged and trials frequently lose more than 20% of their participants. Such losses seriously undermine the statistical power and validity of results.

That certain trial results are then never formally published or made accessible to the public, in any way at all, speaks of egregious inefficiencies. As a consequence, the evidence base that goes on to inform healthcare and policy decisions is frequently weak and does not necessarily serve the best interests of the patients who need and deserve the best care possible.

Getting to grips with Research on Research?

Research on Research (RoR) has the potential to remedy these ills. It offers us an opportunity to step back, to identify, review, and monitor the problems typically found in clinical research, and to seek solutions and improvements to tackle them. Investing resources in RoR can yield rich results: improving the culture, integrity, quality, transparency, relevance, and efficiency of clinical research. Such an investment can ultimately make research less costly, more streamlined, more meaningful, and altogether better in the interests of all.

What’s new in Switzerland?

To this end, In July 2019, the Swiss clinical Trials Empirical Assessment & Methods (STEAM) Working Group kicked off with a début meeting in Bern. The group is joining forces to coordinate projects across Switzerland and to support evidence-based methodology in clinical research. The STEAM Working Group, starting with 20 contributors, is housed by the SCTO.

All six Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) in our network are participating and have provided representatives, who have become members of the group. Swiss-based researchers and stakeholders conducting RoR projects or interested in contributing to such projects are welcome to request to become STEAM members, too.

All aboard for the STEAM Working Group
All aboard for the STEAM Working Group

Verlässliche Studienergebnisse?
Wir setzen auf Qualität.

Mitglieder

Assoziierte Mitglieder

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Swiss Clinical Trials Empirical Assessment & Methods (STEAM)

Leitung STEAM-Arbeitsgruppe

Prof. Matthias Briel, Departement Klinische Forschung der Universität Basel

Wirksamere und nachhaltigere klinische Forschung dank «Research on Research»

Ist die Grundlage der Forschung dürftig, fallen die Studie und ihre Ergebnisse gleichermassen dürftig aus. Denn das Design, die Durchführung und die Analyse einer Studie wie auch das anschliessende Reporting stützen sich in einem solchen Fall auf eine unzureichende Evidenzbasis. Bei lediglich der Hälfte aller Studien wird die vorgesehene Anzahl von Teilnehmenden rekrutiert. Hinzu kommt, dass häufig während der Studie mehr als 20 % der Teilnehmenden abspringen. Solche Verluste schmälern die statistische Aussagekraft und Gültigkeit der Ergebnisse beträchtlich.

Dass bestimmte Studienergebnisse im Anschluss nie formell veröffentlicht oder der Öffentlichkeit in irgendeiner Weise zugänglich gemacht werden, zeugt von gravierenden Ineffizienzen. Folglich ist die Evidenzbasis, auf der die Gesundheitsversorgung und politische Entscheidungen getroffen werden, häufig schwach und dient nicht unbedingt dem Wohl der Patienten, die die bestmögliche Versorgung benötigen und verdienen.

Worum geht es bei «Research on Research»?

Research on Research» (RoR) hat das Potenzial, diese Missstände zu beheben. Indem wir einen Schritt zurückzutreten, können wir die in der klinischen Forschung typischen Probleme identifizieren, beleuchten und beobachten, um dann mit geeigneten Lösungen und Verbesserungen diese Probleme anzugehen. Die Ergebnisse, die aus einer Investition von Ressourcen in RoR hervorgehen, können wirksam und nachhaltig sein: eine Verbesserung der Kultur, Integrität, Qualität, Transparenz, Relevanz und Effizienz der klinischen Forschung. Eine solche Investition kann letztlich die Forschung kostengünstiger, schlanker, sinnvoller und im Interesse aller besser machen.

Was passiert in der Schweiz?

Mit dem Ziel, Projekte schweizweit zu koordinieren und evidenzbasierte Methoden in der klinischen Forschung zu unterstützen, wurde im Juli 2019 in Bern die Arbeitsgruppe STEAM (Swiss Clinical Trials Empirical Assessment & Methods) ins Leben gerufen Die Arbeitsgruppe zählt bisher rund 20 Mitglieder und ist bei der SCTO angesiedelt.

So wirken auch alle sechs CTUs unseres CTU-Netzwerks mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern in der Arbeitsgruppe mit. Forschende, die in der Schweiz angesiedelt sind sowie Interessengruppen, die RoR-Projekte durchführen oder bei solchen Projekten mitwirken möchten, können ebenfalls eine Mitgliedschaft bei der STEAM-Arbeitsgruppe beantragen.

Startschuss für STEAM-Arbeitsgruppe
Startschuss für STEAM-Arbeitsgruppe