Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Data Management

Coordination

Dr Patrick Wright, University Hospital Basel, CTU Basel 

SCTO Data Management Platform

TOOLS

R code libraries for the clinical data management system secuTrial®

The magnitude of data being processed in the clinical context is ever increasing, and thus automated routines and algorithms are needed that allow efficient processing and analysis. Since the Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) were established at Swiss hospitals in the late 2000s, each CTU has developed such methods individually. The SCTO’s platforms provide the opportunity to unify these methods by combining expertise from the individual CTUs.

Members of the Statistics and Methodology Platform and the Data Management Platform joined forces to develop a solution that was implemented in three steps. First, data processing solutions were consolidated within the R statistics environment throughout the entire CTU Network. Then an R package was developed to handle data from the clinical data management system (CDMS) secuTrial®. In a third step, this package was made available to the public.

R is a programming language specifically designed for statistics, and it has become increasingly important since first appearing in the mid 90s. Its large open source community and easy-to-use structure make it an ideal tool for data managers and statisticians in the CTU Network.

The now publicly available R statistics package simplifies working with secuTrial® data exports. It facilitates the loading of data and the conversion of variables to formats more suited to analyses. Furthermore, functionalities for descriptive analyses (e.g. study recruitment, data completeness) are included.

The released R statistics package secuTrialR is available on the Comprehensive R Archive Network (CRAN), GitHub, and Anaconda Cloud.
 
Relevant links:

https://github.com/SwissClinicalTrialOrganisation/secuTrialR
https://swissclinicaltrialorganisation.github.io/secuTrialR/
https://anaconda.org/conda-forge/r-secutrialr
https://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/secuTrialR/index.html


Data Management in brief

Unprecedented advances in recent decades have enabled researchers to collect an abundance of scientific and clinical data. Research emerging from this data can only be excellent when the underlying data handling practices are of the highest standards, too. Data practices must be professional, transparently documented, and – most importantly – reproducible.

In the clinical research setting, data management professionals supply the infrastructure and expertise needed to run affordable and high-quality databases. These contributions ensure that data collection can comply with regulations and be efficiently retrieved and processed, so it is in line with the original research goals.

Study data collection must adhere to Good Clinical Practice, the Swiss Human Research Act, legal and ethical considerations, and international regulations. With the support of their data management peers, researchers can establish databases which serve their research needs, that stand up to scrutiny and allow regular reporting, data cleaning, and automatic validation.

Would you like to know how the experts in the Data Management Platform are channeling their efforts? For more information, consult the fact sheet below.

Bessere Lösungen erarbeiten?
Wir fördern den Dialog zwischen den Akteuren.

Assoziiertes Mitglied

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Datenmanagement

Koordination

Dr. Patrick Wright, Universitätsspital Basel, CTU Basel

SCTO Data Management Platform

TOOLS

R Code Libraries für klinisches Datenmanagementsystem secuTrial®

Der Umfang der Daten, die im klinischen Kontext verarbeitet werden, nimmt ständig zu und erfordert daher automatisierte Routinen und Algorithmen, die eine effiziente Verarbeitung und Analyse ermöglichen. Seit der Gründung der Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) an Schweizer Spitälern Ende der 2000er Jahre hat jede CTU solche Methoden individuell entwickelt. Dank der SCTO-Plattformen wird das Fachwissen und die Erfahrungen der einzelnen CTUs verknüpft und Methoden werden vereinheitlicht.

Mitglieder der Plattformen Statistics and Methodology und Data Management haben gemeinsam eine Lösung erarbeitet, die sich in drei Schritten vollzog: Zunächst wurden die Datenverarbeitungslösungen innerhalb der R-Statistik-Umgebung im gesamten CTU-Netzwerk konsolidiert. Anschliessend entwickelten sie ein R-Paket für den Umgang mit Daten aus dem klinischen Datenmanagementsystem (CDMS) secuTrial® und machten dieses Paket in einem dritten Schritt öffentlich zugänglich.

R ist eine speziell für die Statistik entwickelte Programmiersprache, die seit ihrem ersten Erscheinen Mitte der 90er Jahre zunehmend an Bedeutung gewonnen hat. Seine grosse Open-Source-Gemeinschaft und einfach zu bedienende Struktur machen es zu einem idealen Werkzeug für Datenmanager und Statistiker im CTU-Netzwerk.

Das nun öffentlich zugängliche R-Statistikpaket vereinfacht die Arbeit mit secuTrial®-Datenexporten. Es erleichtert das Laden der Daten und die Konvertierung von Variablen in Formate, die sich besser für Analysen eignen. Darüber hinaus sind Funktionalitäten für deskriptive Analysen (z. B. Studienrekrutierung, Datenvollständigkeit) enthalten.

Das freigegebene R-Statistikpaket secuTrialR ist verfügbar via Comprehensive R Archive Network (CRAN), GitHub, und Anaconda Cloud. 

Weiterführende Links:

https://github.com/SwissClinicalTrialOrganisation/secuTrialR
https://swissclinicaltrialorganisation.github.io/secuTrialR/
https://anaconda.org/conda-forge/r-secutrialr
https://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/secuTrialR/index.html


Datenmanagement in Kürze

Beispiellose Fortschritte in den letzten Jahrzehnten haben es Forschenden ermöglicht, eine Unmenge von wissenschaftlichen und klinischen Daten zu sammeln. Nur wenn jede einzelne Information streng und präzise behandelt wird, kann sie zu exzellenter Forschung führen. Datenpraktiken müssen professionell, transparent dokumentiert und vor allem reproduzierbar sein.

Im Bereich der klinischen Forschung stellen Datenmanagement-Expertinnen und -Experten die Infrastruktur und das Know-how zur Verfügung, die für den Betrieb kostengünstiger und dennoch qualitativ hochwertiger Datenbanken erforderlich sind. Sie tragen dazu bei, dass die Datenerhebung gesetzeskonform und effizient abgerufen und verarbeitet werden kann und so den ursprünglichen Forschungszielen entspricht. Dabei müssen die Studiendaten in Einklang mit der Guten Klinischen Praxis (Good Clinical Practice), dem Schweizerischen Humanforschungsgesetz, rechtlichen und ethischen Überlegungen und internationalen Vorschriften stehen.

Dank der Unterstützung ihrer Datenmanagement-Kolleginnen und Kollegen können Forschende Datenbanken errichten, die nicht nur ihren Forschungsbedürfnissen gerecht werden, sondern auch Prüfungen standhalten und eine regelmässige Berichterstattung, Datenbereinigung und automatische Validierung ermöglichen.

Lesen Sie in unserem Factsheet (in Englisch) unten, welchen Beitrag die Expertinnen und Experten unserer Data-Management-Plattform zu diesem Thema leisten.