Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Regulatory Affairs

The SCTO Platforms have their own website:
Tools & Resources: Our new website for academic clinical research professionals

With our new, user-friendly website, our platforms’ practical tools and resources are even more accessible for your day-to-day work. The website will be continually updated and expanded with additional tools, so it’s worth visiting regularly!

Visit www.sctoplatforms.ch


Coordination

ad interim Isabelle Guilleret, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, CRC Lausanne


ONLINE MAGAZINE

Keep up to date with Regulatory Affairs Watch

For the latest issue of the online magazine Regulatory Affairs Watch and all its previous issues visit the SCTO Platforms’ website: «Tools & Resources»

The online magazine Regulatory Affairs Watch (RA Watch) aims to reach a wide, national audience: human research professionals, investigators, (potential) sponsors, regulators, members of ethics committees, professional organisations and patient associations.

RA Watch shares, at regular intervals, news of a scientific and regulatory nature, from Switzerland and abroad: articles, events and publications. Furthermore, each issue features a deep dive on a particular topic, accompanied by views and opinions of different organisations. The online magazine is published in English only. 

The online magazine was launched in April 2019 by the Regulatory Affairs Platform. Learn more about their activities in the fact sheet below.

Show more
Hide
Tools

September 2020

Electronic health record systems: A study site assessment template for Swiss clinical research sites

More and more frequently, electronic health record (EHR) systems provide source data for case report forms (CRFs) in clinical trials and research projects. These EHR systems must fulfil special regulatory requirements to be compliant with ICH-GCP guidelines and data protection laws. However, according to a survey conducted by the SCTO’s Regulatory Affairs (RA) Platform in 2019, many Swiss academic clinical research sites are not fully aware of the regulatory requirements.

To address this problem, members of the platform created a study site assessment template for EHR systems. On the one hand, this template is intended to help study sites check the conformity of their EHR systems that host the source data for clinical trials and research projects. On the other hand, it should enable sponsor-investigators to assess the suitability of the EHR systems used by study sites involved in their studies.

The template is aimed at Swiss study sites as well as Swiss sponsor-investigators who perform academic clinical research. With this template, the RA Platform aims to provide general assistance and help sites keep apace with digital developments and thus remain competitive and attractive clinical research locations.

Because the template is freely accessible to third parties outside the SCTO, it is important to follow the general instructions on the template’s cover page
EHR System Study Site Assessment Template

Summary of the online survey outlining EHR system use, experience, and needs of clinical research professionals in Switzerland (conducted in early 2019): 
Electronic health record systems at Swiss clinical trials sites: Usage, experience, and needs


Regulatory Affairs in brief

Regulatory affairs is a relatively new professional field. It emerged in the 1980s, when governments worldwide became compelled to better protect the public. Such protection includes ensuring that all medicines reaching society are optimally safe and effective. Regulatory professionals were developed to integrate sound regulatory practices into projects from start to finish, keeping them on the right legal track.

In the realm of clinical research, they assist their peers with clinical trials applications, from early days, ensuring that all the documents and processes accompanying a project are in place and are of the quality required. Regulatory affairs professionals assist in reviewing study plans (protocol) and preparing submissions to national authorities, amending as needed, placing the trial in a registry, and following it through with the final study reports. All documents must be reviewed, complete, scientifically accurate, in regulatory compliance, and presented so as to facilitate the review and approval process of the ethics committees and – if needed – of the competent authorities.

EFFIZIENTERE KLINISCHE FORSCHUNG? 

WIR SETZEN AUF TRANSPARENZ.

Assoziiertes Mitglied

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Regulatory Affairs

Koordination

Dr. Laure Vallotton, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, CTU Lausanne

SCTO Regulatory Affairs Platform

Bleiben Sie regulatorisch am Ball mit unserem «Regulatory Affairs Watch»

Der E-Mail-Newsletter «Regulatory Affairs Watch (RAW)» richtet sich an ein breites nationales Publikum: Fachleute aus dem Bereich der Humanforschung, Investigators, (potenzielle) Sponsoren, Behörden, Mitglieder von Ethikkommissionen sowie von Fach- und Patientenorganisationen.

Der Newsletter weist Interessierte regelmässig auf wissenschaftliche und regulatorische Neuigkeiten aus dem In- und Ausland hin, wie Artikel, Publikationen und Veranstaltungen. Zudem erhält die Leserschaft in jeder Ausgabe Hintergrundinformationen zu einem bestimmten Thema sowie Meinungen und Standpunkte einzelner Organisationen. Der Newsletter erscheint in englischer Sprache und wurde im April 2019 von unserer Regulatory-Affairs-Plattform ins Leben gerufen. 

Sie finden auf unserer englischen Seite die aktuelle Ausgabe sowie die archivierten Ausgaben des Newsletters.

Mehr
Weniger

Tools

September 2020

Elektronische Patientendatensysteme in der klinischen Forschungspraxis: Vorlage zur Überprüfung der Konformität in der Schweiz

Immer häufiger liefern elektronische Patientendatenmanagementsysteme (Electronic Health Record (EHR) Systems) Quelldaten für die Case Report Forms (CRFs) in klinischen Studien und Forschungsprojekten. Diese EHR-Systeme müssen besondere regulatorische Anforderungen erfüllen, um den ICH-GCP und Datenschutzgesetzen zu entsprechen. Eine von der Regulatory-Affairs-Plattform der SCTO durchgeführte Umfrage aus dem Jahr 2019 zeigt jedoch, dass innerhalb vieler akademischer klinischer Prüfzentren keine umfassende Kenntnis über die regulatorischen Anforderungen besteht.

Um dieser Unsicherheit zu begegnen, haben die Mitglieder der Plattform eine Vorlage für EHR-Systeme ausgearbeitet. Diese soll zum einen den Prüfzentren helfen, die Konformität ihrer EHR-Systeme als Plattform für die Quelldaten klinischer Studien und Forschungsprojekte zu überprüfen und zum anderen den Sponsor-Investigatoren ermöglichen, die Eignung der EHR-Systeme von an ihren Studien beteiligten Prüfzentren zu beurteilen.

Das Dokument richtet sich sowohl an Schweizer Studienzentren als auch an Schweizer Sponsor-Investigatoren, die akademische klinische Forschung betreiben. Die Plattform bietet damit eine allgemeine Hilfestellung und Unterstützung für die Zentren, mit der digitalen Entwicklung Schritt zu halten und so ein wettbewerbsfähiger und attraktiver Standort für klinische Forschung zu bleiben.

Die Vorlage ist für Dritte ausserhalb der SCTO frei zugänglich: Wir bitten Sie, die allgemeinen Anweisungen auf dem Deckblatt der Vorlage zu beachten: 
Study Site Assessment Template for EHR Systems

Zusammenfassung der Online-Umfrage zur Nutzung, Erfahrung und zu den Bedürfnissen der klinischen Forschenden in der Schweiz (Anfang 2019 durchgeführt): 
Electronic health record systems at Swiss clinical trials sites: Usage, experience and needs


Regulatory Affairs in Kürze

Der Bereich Regulatory Affairs ist ein relativ neues Berufsfeld. Es entwickelte sich in den 1980er Jahren, als Regierungen weltweit gedrängt wurden, die öffentliche Gesundheit besser zu schützen. Dazu gehörte auch die medizinische Versorgung: Alle auf den Markt kommenden Arzneimittel sollten optimal sicher und wirksam sein. Fachleute im Bereich Regulatory Affairs wurden gefördert, um die soliden Regulierungspraktiken von Anfang bis Ende anzuwenden und Forschungsprojekte regulatorisch auf dem richtigen Kurs zu halten.

Heute sind Regulatory Affairs-Fachleute im Bereich der klinischen Forschung früh involviert, indem sie ihre Teams bei Bewilligungsverfahren für klinische Versuche unterstützen. Sie stellen sicher, dass alle Dokumente und Prozesse, die ein Forschungsprojekt begleiten, vorhanden und von der erforderlichen Qualität sind. Fachkräfte für Regulatory Affairs helfen bei der Überprüfung des Studienplans (Protokoll) und bei der Vorbereitung des Gesuchs an die nationalen Behörden. Sie passen es bei Bedarf an, registrieren die Studie in einem Register und begleiten das Projekt bis zum endgültigen Abschlussbericht. Alle Dokumente müssen in Bezug auf die Einhaltung der Vorschriften überprüft, vollständig und wissenschaftlich genau sein und so präsentiert werden, dass sie den Prüfungs- und Genehmigungsprozess der Ethikkommissionen und – falls erforderlich – der zuständigen Behörden erleichtern.

Lesen Sie in unserem Factsheet (in Englisch) unten, welchen Beitrag die Expertinnen und Experten unserer Regulatory-Affairs-Plattform zu diesem Thema leisten.