Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Today's clinical research is tomorrow's medicine

For researchers and study personnel

Systematic, targeted development of young researchers

In order for Switzerland to remain an attractive location to conduct clinical trials, academic clinical research needs to have well-trained personnel that is able to conduct trials according to professional standards. The SCTO is committed to ensuring that interesting training and further education opportunities on current topics in clinical research are available to researchers. We also coordinate activities that implement the Federal Office of Public Health’s national roadmap for developing the next generation of clinical researchers. One impressive result of this roadmap is the Clinical Research Careers website, which helps guide young physicians along their career path with a variety of national support instruments.
 

Services for smoothly conducting clinical trial projects

The SCTO’s Clinical Trial Unit (CTU) Network provides all the services needed to smoothly conduct clinical trial projects. In addition, each CTU coordinates an SCTO Platform, which serves as a contact point for questions and focuses on one of the following key areas in clinical research: auditing, education, data management, monitoring, project management, regulatory affairs, safety, and statistics and methodology. SCTO Platforms offer clinical research professionals practical, freely accessible resources for their daily work on the Tools & Resources website.
 

Support for multicentre, multinational trials

One of the main objectives of our collaboration with the European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN) is to help researchers in Switzerland gain access to research infrastructures in Europe. ECRIN offers comprehensive management and consulting services for researchers involved in multicentre, multinational trials.
 

Patient and public involvement

Researchers who are planning a clinical research project and applying for potential funding are increasingly being required to document their plans for actively involving patients and the public (PPI) in the design and implementation of their research projects. Our PPI Fact Sheet explains what exactly is behind the concept of PPI, where and when PPI is possible, and who should be involved. In addition, our PPI Guide for Researchers helps researchers identify opportunities to include effective and meaningful PPI in their clinical trials.

For more information on these and other PPI-related topics, please visit the PPI section of our website.

Bessere Lösungen erarbeiten?
Wir fördern den Dialog zwischen den Akteuren.

Assoziiertes Mitglied

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Die klinische Forschung von heute ist die Medizin von morgen

FÜR FORSCHENDE UND STUDIENPERSONAL

Gezielte und systematische Förderung des Nachwuchses

Damit die Schweiz in Zukunft als Durchführungsort klinischer Studien attraktiv ist und bleibt, braucht die akademische klinische Forschung gut ausgebildetes Personal, das fähig ist, Studien «lege artis» durchzuführen. Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass Forschenden ein interessantes Trainings- und Weiterbildungsangebot zu aktuellen Themen rund um die klinische Forschung zur Verfügung steht und koordinieren die Aktivitäten zur Umsetzung der nationalen Roadmap zur Nachwuchsförderung in der Klinischen Forschung des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit. Ein anschauliches Ergebnis dieser Roadmap ist die Website Clinical Research Careers, welche junge Medizinerinnen und Mediziner auf nationaler Ebene mit einem vielfältigen Angebot durch die Karriere begleitet.
 

Reibungslose Durchführung klinischer Studienprojekte

Das Netzwerk der Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) bietet sämtliche Dienstleistungen an, die es für die reibungslose Durchführung klinischer Studienprojekte braucht. Zusätzlich koordiniert jede CTU eine SCTO-Plattform, die als Anlaufstelle bei Fragen fungiert und sich auf einen Kernbereich der klinischen Forschung konzentriert: Auditing, Aus- und Weiterbildung, Datenmanagement, Monitoring, Projektmanagement, Regulatory Affairs, Safety, Statistik und Methodologie. Auf der Website Tools & Resources bieten die Plattformen Fachpersonen frei zugängliche und praktische Hilfsmittel für die tägliche Arbeit.
 

Support für multizentrische, multinationale Studien

Eines der Hauptziele unserer Zusammenarbeit mit dem European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN) ist, Forschenden in der Schweiz den Zugang zu Forschungsinfrastrukturen in Europa zu ermöglichen. Dieses bietet Forschenden umfassende Management- und Beratungsdienstleistungen für multizentrische, multinationale Studien.

 

Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung (PPI)

Forschende, die ein klinisches Forschungsprojekt planen und sich um mögliche Fördermittel bemühen, werden vermehrt aufgefordert, ihre Pläne zur aktiven Einbindung von Patientinnen und Patienten und der Öffentlichkeit (Patient and Public Involvement, kurz PPI) in die Gestaltung und Durchführung ihrer Forschungsprojekte zu dokumentieren. Unser PPI Fact Sheet führt aus, was genau man unter dem PPI-Konzept versteht, wo und wann diese Beteiligung stattfinden kann und wen man involvieren sollte. Zudem unterstützt unser «Guide for researchers to address PPI in clinical trials» Forschende dabei, Möglichkeiten für eine effektive und sinnvolle Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung in ihrer klinischen Studie zu ermitteln.

Diese und weitere Informationen zum Thema PPI finden Sie auf unserer Seite Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung.