Looking for better solutions?
We promote dialogue between stakeholders.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

CTU network

CTU Network

CTU network

There are six hospitals in Switzerland with Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) that originally received seed funds from the Swiss National Science Foundation. The SCTO coordinates the collaboration among these centres and supports them primarily in the following areas:

  • Quality assurance: define and implement internationally recognised quality standards for conducting studies
  • Data management: develop common guidelines in the areas of data management and project management
  • Continued education and training coordination


The SCTO coordinates and moderates working groups on the above-mentioned topics.

The SCTO is the coordination office of the CTU network and also functions as its representative and contact for authorities, industry and the media.

New members

The SCTO has created a new membership category for associate members. The relevant regulations and the conditions of admission are available here: