Looking for better solutions?
We promote dialogue between stakeholders.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Members and boards

The SCTO is a Swiss association and currently includes the following members:

Ordinary members
Ente Ospedaliero Cantonale (EOC)
Geneva University Hospitals (HUG)
Inselspital (Universitätsspital) Bern
Kantonsspital St.Gallen
Lausanne University Hospital (CHUV)
University Hospital Basel 
UniversityHospital Zurich
Collège des Doyens (Deans of the medical faculties of the Swiss universities)
Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS)

Associate member
Swiss Paraplegic Centre (SPC)

Steering Board

Prof. Dr med. Christiane Pauli-Magnus, University Hospital Basel

Dr iur. Jürg Müller, University Hospital Basel

Additional members
Prof. Dr. med. Michele Ghielmini, EOC Ticino
Prof. Dr med. Matthias Gugger, Insel Gruppe Bern
Prof. Dr med. Burkhard Ludewig, Kantonsspital St.Gallen
Prof. Dr med. Manuel Pascual, CHUV Lausanne
Prof. Dr med. Jérôme Pugin, HUG Geneva
Prof. Dr med. Gabriela Senti, UniversityHospital Zurich
Prof. Dr med. Hans-Uwe Simon, Collège des Doyens
vacant, SAMS Bern

The Managing Director attends the Steering Board meetings in an advisory capacity.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is an independent committee that supports the Steering Board in strategic decision-making. The following organisations are currently represented:

Association of Pharmaceutical Research Companies of Switzerland (Interpharma)
Business Association Chemistry Pharma Biotech (scienceindustries)
State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI)
Swiss Association of Pharmaceutical Professionals (SwAPP)
Swiss Ethics Committees on research involving humans (swissethics)
Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)
Swiss Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology (SGKPT)
Swiss Society of Pharmaceutical Medicine (SGPM)

New members

You have questions about membership? Contact our Executive Office.