Aiming to conduct more efficient clinical research?
We focus on transparency.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Symposium 2021

10th SCTO Symposium

Medical devices: Lost in translation?
8 June 2021, online

New regulations on medical devices

Following a one-year delay and the transition period, the European Union’s new Medical Devices Regulation (MDR) will become fully applicable on 26 May 2021. This regulation will bring EU legislation in line with changes in medical science, technical advances, and progress in lawmaking. In the wake of various incidents and scandals involving medical devices, the overall aim of the MDR is to improve the quality and safety of medical devices and thereby improve patient safety.

As the result of the mutual recognition agreement (MRA) between Switzerland and the EU, Switzerland has had regulation that is considered equivalent to the EU’s regulation since 2001. In order to maintain this equivalence, Switzerland also changed its legislation and adapted it to the new EU legislation. In 2020, the Swiss Federal Council adopted the revised Medical Devices Ordinance (MedDO) and a new ordinance on clinical trials with medical devices (ClinO-MD, not available in English). This legislation is intended to improve patient safety and ensure that Swiss manufacturers will continue to have access to the European market.

As a consequence of the coronavirus pandemic, the European Commission postponed the application date of the new MDR. For reasons of consistency, Switzerland’s new legislation will enter into force in stages as well. The SCTO’s 2020 Symposium on medical devices also had to be postponed for a year – yet its topic remains highly relevant in 2021.

Show more
Hide

Programme

Together with Bern University Hospital, the University of Bern, and sitem-insel AG (Swiss Institute for Translational and Entrepreneurial Medicine), the SCTO is holding its 10th symposium on 8 June 2021. National and international experts will share their perspectives on medical devices in clinical development. During the symposium, we will address many interesting aspects of this topic, including the following:

  • New requirements for medical devices: From clinical development to certification and market access
  • Focus on Switzerland: Where do we stand in clinical development? What is the regulatory framework in Switzerland?

During the second part of our symposium, we will look at the topic from three different perspectives:

  • Patient: A case study of patient-driven medical device development
  • User: User-centred design and artificial intelligence
  • Academic: Unique challenges with medical devices in translational medicine

In addition, our breakout sessions during the lunch break will give participants the chance to learn more about topics specific to Switzerland, for example about access to the Swiss market or what training is needed and what training is currently available in Switzerland.

The symposium will be held in English.

 

Online registration

 

Programme

Elaboration de solutions plus abouties?
Favorisons la communication entre les acteurs.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Symposium 2021

10ÈME SYMPOSIUM DE LA SCTO

«Medical devices: Lost in translation?»
8 juin 2021, en ligne

Nouveau règlement pour les dispositifs médicaux

Avec un délai d'une année et suite à une période de transition, le nouveau règlement de l'Union européenne (UE) sur les dispositifs médicaux entrera en vigueur le 26 mai 2021. Il vise à adapter la législation européenne à l'évolution des sciences médicales, aux progrès technologiques et à l’évolution de la législation. Pour faire suite à divers incidents et scandales impliquant des dispositifs médicaux, l'objectif général de cette nouvelle réglementation est d'améliorer la qualité et la sécurité des dispositifs médicaux et d'accroître ainsi la sécurité des patients.

Grâce à l’accord de reconnaissance mutuelle en matière d’évaluation de la conformité entre la Confédération suisse et l'Union européenne (ARM), la Suisse dispose depuis 2001 d'une réglementation considérée comme équivalente à celle de l'UE. Afin de garantir cette équivalence, la Suisse a également modifié et adapté sa législation. En 2020, le Conseil fédéral a adopté l'ordonnance révisée sur les dispositifs médicaux (ODim) et la nouvelle ordonnance sur les essais cliniques de dispositifs médicaux (OClin-Dim). L'objectif est d'améliorer la sécurité des patients et de garantir aux fabricants suisses l’accès au marché européen.

En raison de la pandémie de coronavirus, la Commission européenne a reporté l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle règlementation. Par souci de cohérence, la nouvelle législation suisse entrera également en vigueur par étapes. Le symposium de la SCTO sur les dispositifs médicaux a également dû être reporté d’une année cependant la thématique reste d'actualité.

Plus
Moins

Le programme

En collaboration avec l'Hôpital universitaire de Berne, l'Université de Berne et l'Institut suisse de médecine translationnelle et entrepreneuriale (sitem-insel AG), la SCTO organise son 10e symposium le 8 juin 2021. Des experts locaux et internationaux présenteront leurs points de vue sur le thème des dispositifs médicaux dans le développement clinique. Nous aborderons, entre autres, les questions suivantes:

  • Nouvelles exigences pour les dispositifs médicaux: du développement clinique à l'accès au marché, en passant par la certification.
  • Focus sur la Suisse: Où en sommes-nous en matière de développement clinique? Quelles sont les conditions cadres réglementaires?

Dans une deuxième temps, nous examinerons le sujet sous trois angles différents:

  • Patient: étude de cas sur le développement de dispositifs médicaux piloté par les patients
  • Utilisateur: conception centrée sur l'utilisateur et intelligence artificielle
  • Académie: défis spécifiques aux dispositifs médicaux en médecine translationnelle

Par ailleurs, des séances de discussion durant la pause du déjeuner permettront aux participants d'en savoir plus sur des sujets spécifiques liés à la Suisse, tels que l'accès au marché ou les besoins et les offres de formation.

Le symposium se déroulera en anglais.

 

Formulaire d'inscription en ligne

 

Programme provisoire
(Statut mars 2021)