Aiming to conduct more efficient clinical research?
We focus on transparency.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Network

International networking as the key to success

Today, many clinical research projects need to be run at the international level in order to be successful. Such projects are challenging, so finding the right partner and having a professional infrastructure are crucial for project planning and implementation. This applies to studies performed in academia as well as industry-sponsored studies.

At the SCTO, we coordinate services and study centres in Switzerland and in Europe. Coordinating multicentre studies is one of the key objectives of our collaboration with the European Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN). In multicentre studies, a researcher usually makes the initial contact directly with researchers in other hospitals; however, we can liaise if desired.

Partnering with the Swiss Research Network of Clinical Pediatric Hubs (SwissPedNet), we also support the development of new or optimised medical treatments and diagnostic procedures for children and adolescents. In addition, we coordinate the necessary contacts in Switzerland.

The SCTO itself does not offer services for the operational implementation of trials. Such services are provided by the Clinical Trial Unit (CTU) Network.

In line with our ultimate goal of supporting the successful development of new therapies and improving existing treatments, we established the SCTO Platforms in 2017. These eight platforms are to serve as centres of excellence. Here too, we liaise with and between these individual platforms and support them in their activities.

SCTO Platforms and CTUs
SCTO Platforms and CTUs

Un déroulement des études cliniques simplifié?
Harmonisons les processus.

Membres associés

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Réseau

La mise en réseau internationale constitue la clé du succès

De nombreux projets doivent aujourd’hui être effectués sur le plan international pour être couronnés de succès. De tels projets sont ambitieux: le partenaire idéal et l’infrastructure professionnelle sont donc déterminants lors de la planification et de la réalisation. Cet élément s’applique aussi bien aux études académiques qu’à celles qui sont sponsorisées par l’industrie.

À la SCTO, nous coordonnons la prestation de services et des centres d’études en Suisse comme en Europe et les faisons connaître, par exemple dans le cadre d’études multicentriques. Il s’agit là d’un objectif central de la collaboration entre la SCTO et l'ECRIN. Sur demande, la SCTO peut agir en qualité d’intermédiaire, même lorsque le premier contact s’effectue par l’intermédiaire d’une chercheuse ou d’un chercheur en milieu hospitalier, comme dans le cas de nombreuses études multicentriques.

En collaboration avec le réseau suisse des centres de recherche en pédiatrie SwissPedNet, la SCTO soutient également le développement de traitements médicaux nouveaux ou améliorés pour les enfants et les adolescents et fournit les contacts nécessaires en Suisse.

La SCTO ne propose pas ses propres services pour la réalisation opérationnelle d’études. Cette tâche incombe aux Clinical Trial Units (CTU)

Dans le but de soutenir le développement de nouvelles thérapies et d’améliorer les traitements existants, nous avons établi les Plateformes SCTO en 2017. Ces huit plateformes sont destinées à agir en tant que centres de compétences. À la SCTO, nous assurons en outre la liaison avec et entre ces plateformes individuelles et les soutenons dans leurs activités.