Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Swiss Clinical Trials Empirical Assessment & Methods (STEAM)

Lead STEAM Working Group

Prof. Matthias Briel, Department of Clinical Research, University of Basel

"Research on Research" making clinical research leaner and meaner

When the fundamentals of research are flimsy – with a poor evidence base informing trial design, its conduct, analysis, and subsequent reporting – trials and their results will be equally flimsy. Barely half of clinical trials recruit the number of participants envisaged and trials frequently lose more than 20% of their participants. Such losses seriously undermine the statistical power and validity of results.

That certain trial results are then never formally published or made accessible to the public, in any way at all, speaks of egregious inefficiencies. As a consequence, the evidence base that goes on to inform healthcare and policy decisions is frequently weak and does not necessarily serve the best interests of the patients who need and deserve the best care possible.

Getting to grips with Research on Research?

Research on Research (RoR) has the potential to remedy these ills. It offers us an opportunity to step back, to identify, review, and monitor the problems typically found in clinical research, and to seek solutions and improvements to tackle them. Investing resources in RoR can yield rich results: improving the culture, integrity, quality, transparency, relevance, and efficiency of clinical research. Such an investment can ultimately make research less costly, more streamlined, more meaningful, and altogether better in the interests of all.

What’s new in Switzerland?

To this end, In July 2019, the Swiss clinical Trials Empirical Assessment & Methods (STEAM) Working Group kicked off with a début meeting in Bern. The group is joining forces to coordinate projects across Switzerland and to support evidence-based methodology in clinical research. The STEAM Working Group, starting with 20 contributors, is housed by the SCTO.

All six Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) in our network are participating and have provided representatives, who have become members of the group. Swiss-based researchers and stakeholders conducting RoR projects or interested in contributing to such projects are welcome to request to become STEAM members, too.

All aboard for the STEAM Working Group
All aboard for the STEAM Working Group

Elaboration de solutions plus abouties?
Favorisons la communication entre les acteurs.

Membres associés

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Swiss Clinical Trials Empirical Assessment & Methods (STEAM)

Responsable du groupe STEAM

Prof. Matthias Briel, département de recherche clinique de l'Hôpital universitaire de Bâle

La recherche sur la recherche rend la recherche clinique plus énergique et viable

Lorsque les fondements de la recherche sont fragiles – avec une base de données probantes insuffisante pour guider la conception des essais, leur conduite, leur analyse et les rapports subséquents – les essais et leurs résultats seront peu concluants. À peine la moitié des essais cliniques recrutent le nombre de participants prévu et l'attrition s'élève souvent à plus de 20%. De telles pertes compromettent gravement la puissance statistique et la validité des résultats.

Le fait que certains résultats d'essais cliniques ne soient jamais officiellement publiés ou rendus accessibles au public, de quelque façon que ce soit, témoigne d'une inefficacité flagrante. Par conséquent, les données probantes qui éclairent les décisions relatives à la prise en charge médicale et les décisions politiques sont souvent maigres et ne servent pas nécessairement au mieux les intérêts des patients qui ont besoin et méritent les meilleurs soins possibles.

La «Research on Research», de quoi s'agit-il?

La «Research on Research» (RoR) a le potentiel de remédier à ces problèmes. Elle nous permet de prendre du recul, d'identifier, d'examiner et de guetter les problèmes typiques de la recherche clinique, et ainsi de trouver des solutions et des améliorations pour les résoudre. Un investissement dans la RoR peut amener de précieux résultats: améliorer la culture, l'intégrité, la qualité, la transparence, la pertinence et l'efficacité de la recherche clinique. Un tel investissement peut en fin de compte rendre la recherche moins coûteuse, plus rationnelle, plus significative et, dans l'intérêt de tous, plus utile.

De nouvelles initiatives en Suisse

Dans ce but, le groupe de travail STEAM (Swiss Clinical Trials Empirical Assessment & Methods) a entamé ses travaux avec une première réunion à Berne en juillet 2019. Le groupe s'associe pour coordonner des projets dans toute la Suisse et pour soutenir une méthodologie fondée sur des données probantes dans la recherche clinique. Le groupe de travail STEAM, composé de 20 membres, est hébergé par la SCTO.

Des représentants des six centres de recherche clinique de notre réseau prennent part à ce groupe. Les chercheurs basés en Suisse et les parties prenantes menant des projets de RoR ou intéressées à contribuer à de tels projets sont bienvenus et peuvent également demander à devenir membres du groupe de travail STEAM.

Tous à bord pour le groupe de travail STEAM
Tous à bord pour le groupe de travail STEAM