Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Data Management

Coordination

Dr Patrick Wright, University Hospital Basel, CTU Basel 

SCTO Data Management Platform

TOOLS

R code libraries for the clinical data management system secuTrial®

The magnitude of data being processed in the clinical context is ever increasing, and thus automated routines and algorithms are needed that allow efficient processing and analysis. Since the Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) were established at Swiss hospitals in the late 2000s, each CTU has developed such methods individually. The SCTO’s platforms provide the opportunity to unify these methods by combining expertise from the individual CTUs.

Members of the Statistics and Methodology Platform and the Data Management Platform joined forces to develop a solution that was implemented in three steps. First, data processing solutions were consolidated within the R statistics environment throughout the entire CTU Network. Then an R package was developed to handle data from the clinical data management system (CDMS) secuTrial®. In a third step, this package was made available to the public.

R is a programming language specifically designed for statistics, and it has become increasingly important since first appearing in the mid 90s. Its large open source community and easy-to-use structure make it an ideal tool for data managers and statisticians in the CTU Network.

The now publicly available R statistics package simplifies working with secuTrial® data exports. It facilitates the loading of data and the conversion of variables to formats more suited to analyses. Furthermore, functionalities for descriptive analyses (e.g. study recruitment, data completeness) are included.

The released R statistics package secuTrialR is available on the Comprehensive R Archive Network (CRAN), GitHub, and Anaconda Cloud.
 
Relevant links:

https://github.com/SwissClinicalTrialOrganisation/secuTrialR
https://swissclinicaltrialorganisation.github.io/secuTrialR/
https://anaconda.org/conda-forge/r-secutrialr
https://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/secuTrialR/index.html


Data Management in brief

Unprecedented advances in recent decades have enabled researchers to collect an abundance of scientific and clinical data. Research emerging from this data can only be excellent when the underlying data handling practices are of the highest standards, too. Data practices must be professional, transparently documented, and – most importantly – reproducible.

In the clinical research setting, data management professionals supply the infrastructure and expertise needed to run affordable and high-quality databases. These contributions ensure that data collection can comply with regulations and be efficiently retrieved and processed, so it is in line with the original research goals.

Study data collection must adhere to Good Clinical Practice, the Swiss Human Research Act, legal and ethical considerations, and international regulations. With the support of their data management peers, researchers can establish databases which serve their research needs, that stand up to scrutiny and allow regular reporting, data cleaning, and automatic validation.

Would you like to know how the experts in the Data Management Platform are channeling their efforts? For more information, consult the fact sheet below.

Un déroulement des études cliniques simplifié?
Harmonisons les processus.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Gestion des données

Coordinateur de la plateforme

Dr Patrick Wright, Hôpital Universitaire de Bâle, CTU Bâle

SCTO Data Management Platform

OUTILS

R Code Libraries pour le système de gestion des données cliniques secuTrial®

La quantité de données traitées dans le contexte clinique est en constante augmentation et nécessite donc des routines et des algorithmes automatisés qui permettent un traitement et une analyse efficaces. Depuis la création des Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) dans les hôpitaux suisses à la fin des années 2000, chaque CTU a développé ces méthodes individuellement. Grâce aux plateformes de la SCTO, les compétences et l'expérience des différentes CTUs sont maintenant combinées et les méthodes sont standardisées.

Les membres des plateformes Statistics and Methodology et Data Management ont travaillé conjointement pour développer une solution, qui s'est déroulée en trois étapes: tout d'abord, les solutions de traitement des données dans l'environnement R-Statistics ont été consolidées dans l'ensemble du Réseau CTU. Ils ont ensuite développé un paquet R pour le traitement des données du système de gestion des données cliniques secuTrial® (CDMS) et ont rendu ce paquet accessible au public lors de la troisième étape.

R est un langage de programmation spécialement développé pour les statistiques, qui a pris une importance croissante depuis sa première apparition au milieu des années 1990. Sa vaste communauté de logiciels libres et sa structure facile à utiliser en font un outil idéal pour les gestionnaires de données et les statisticiens du réseau CTU.

Le package de statistiques R, désormais accessible au public, simplifie le travail à l’aide des exportations de données secuTrial®. Il facilite le chargement des données et la conversion des variables dans des formats plus adaptés à l'analyse. Il comprend également des fonctionnalités pour les analyses descriptives (par exemple, le recrutement des études, la complétude des données).

Le package de statistiques R secuTrialR est disponible sous Comprehensive R Archive Network (CRAN), GitHub, and Anaconda Cloud.

Liens​​​​​​​:

https://github.com/SwissClinicalTrialOrganisation/secuTrialR
https://swissclinicaltrialorganisation.github.io/secuTrialR/
https://anaconda.org/conda-forge/r-secutrialr
https://cran.r-project.org/web/packages/secuTrialR/index.html


La gestion des données en bref

Au cours des dernières décennies, des progrès sans précédent ont permis aux chercheurs de recueillir une quantité énorme de données scientifiques et cliniques. Cependant, ce n’est que si chaque information est traitée avec rigueur et précision qu’elle peut mener à d’excellentes recherches. Les pratiques en matière de données doivent être documentées de manière professionnelle, transparente et doivent surtout être reproductibles.

Dans le domaine de la recherche clinique, les expert-e-s en gestion des données fournissent l’infrastructure et le savoir-faire nécessaires pour exploiter des bases de données à moindre coût mais de haute qualité. Ces expert-e-s contribuent à garantir que les données collectées peuvent être consultées et traitées de manière efficace, en conformité avec la loi, et qu’elles sont en phase avec les objectifs de recherche initiaux. Les données des études doivent être conformes aux bonnes pratiques cliniques («Good Clinical Practice»), à la Loi suisse relative à la recherche sur l’être humain, aux considérations juridiques et éthiques et aux réglementations internationales.

Grâce au soutien de leurs collègues responsables de la gestion des données, les chercheurs peuvent créer des bases de données qui non seulement répondent à leurs besoins en recherche, mais qui résistent aussi aux contrôles et permettent la production régulière de rapports, le nettoyage des données ainsi que la validation automatique.

Voulez-vous savoir comment les experts de la plateforme «Data Management» canalisent leurs efforts? Pour de plus amples informations à ce sujet, consultez notre «fact sheet» (en anglais) ci-dessous.