Aiming to conduct more efficient clinical research?
We focus on transparency.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Monitoring

Coordination

Dr Jocelyne Chabert, Geneva University Hospitals, CTU Geneva

SCTO Monitoring Platform

tools

A central data monitoring fact sheet offers harmonised guidance

With the introduction of risk-based monitoring, strict on-site monitoring in clinical research projects is no longer reasonable or mandatory. This trend away from on-site monitoring has resulted in the implementation of alternative monitoring methods, and new approaches such as centralised monitoring processes may complement conventional monitoring. Central data monitoring (CDM) plays an important role here: it is not only a highly valuable (particularly in large multicentre trials) and often essential addition to on-site monitoring but may also help to reduce the number of (cost-intensive) on-site monitoring visits. For high-quality study data, a deliberate combination of conventional monitoring and CDM is required.

To date, especially in the academic setting of investigator-initiated trials, many stakeholders have not yet included CDM in their monitoring strategy. Because awareness of CDM is not yet widespread, it is not yet clear how CDM may contribute to data quality and study oversight. In addition, terminology in guidance documents is inconsistent and the application of CDM is not clearly described in guidance documents.

To address this lack of harmonised guidance, the Monitoring Platform prepared a fact sheet examining and describing CDM in detail. This fact sheet aims to not only support the members of the SCTO’s CTU Network but also reach the entire Swiss research community.

Because the fact sheet is freely accessible to third parties outside the SCTO, it is important to follow the general instructions on the fact sheet’s cover page.

Tools

Monitoring Visit Report and Monitoring Plan – convenient and clearly structured templates

The user-friendly Monitoring Visit Report and Monitoring Plan templates were developed by the SCTO’s Monitoring Platform to harmonise the documentation of monitoring visits and monitoring plans. This is particularly helpful for multicentre studies. However, the templates are useful not only for multicentre studies within the SCTO’s CTU Network but for all sites doing clinical research.

Because these templates are freely accessible to third parties outside the SCTO, it is important to follow the general instructions on the templates’ cover pages.

TOOLS

You’re planning the monitoring of a clinical study, but are the study’s potential risks on your radar?

Our Monitoring Platform represents a pool of experienced monitors joining forces to develop practical monitoring solutions for clinical studies. We’re pleased to announce a trio of resources to help you manage your study monitoring, first released together in June 2019. Use them to find the best monitoring strategy for your study, based on predefined considerations.

Here you can download and explore:

  • our revised Guidelines for Risk-Based Monitoring, published as Appendix 3 of the Guidelines for Good Operational Practice (GGOP), Version 2.0 
  • our new Risk-Based Monitoring (RBM) Score Calculator, provided as an interactive Excel spreadsheet, and
  • its comprehensive User Instructions

Questions or suggestions?

To obtain competent answers to general monitoring questions or to offer feedback on these resources, contact us at monitoring@scto.notexisting@nodomain.comch.


Monitoring in brief

For any trial to reach its conclusion, monitors are crucial. Whereas auditing serves a quality assurance (QA) function, monitoring provides quality control (QC), through which study conduct is checked, step by step. Simply put, monitors aim to detect issues and rectify them, preventing existing errors from recurring and new ones from developing. Before, during, and after the trial, monitors assess whether what is planned, described, and approved is realised as intended.

Every trial must be conducted, recorded, and reported correctly, meaning that it should adhere to protocol, Standard Operating Procedures, Good Clinical Practice, and the relevant regulatory requirements – all of these being aspects of QC. Monitoring was developed internationally as a profession to render trials more cost effective, of higher quality, and ultimately to help them reach conclusive results. Monitors are effectively guardians of both processes and people. They oversee that trial data is accurate, complete, and verifiable, while checking that the rights of participants are protected. When both processes and people are protected in this way, more trials can run to completion.

Would you like to know how the experts in the Monitoring Platform are channelling their efforts? For more information, consult the fact sheet below.

Des résultats d’études cliniques fiables?
Misons sur la qualité.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Monitoring

Coordinatrice de la plateforme

Dr Jocelyne Chabert, Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève, CTU Genève

SCTO Monitoring Platform

OUTILS

Guide harmonisé pour le Central Data Monitoring

Depuis l'introduction du risk-based monitoring au sein de projets de recherche clinique, il n'est ni judicieux ni obligatoire de procéder à un monitoring se limitant strictement au(x) lieu(x) d’étude. Cette tendance à l'abandon du monitoring sur site a conduit à l'introduction de méthodes alternatives et, de nouvelles approches, telles que les processus de monitoring centralisés pourraient compléter le monitoring conventionnel. À cet égard, le Central Data Monitoring (CDM) joue un rôle important: il représente d’une part un complément précieux et souvent indispensable au monitoring sur site (en particulier dans les grandes études multicentriques), et peut d’autre part également contribuer à réduire le nombre de visites de monitoring sur site (coûteuses). Pour obtenir des données d'étude de haute qualité, il est nécessaire de combiner délibérément le monitoring conventionnel et le CDM.

À ce jour, et en particulier dans le milieu universitaire où les études sont généralement initiées par les chercheurs, le CDM ne fait pas encore partie de la stratégie de monitoring. Étant donné que la sensibilisation au CDM n’est que peu répandue, sa contribution à la qualité des données et au suivi des études reste encore peu clair pour de nombreuses parties prenantes. De plus, les lignes directrices ne fournissent pas de terminologie uniforme ni ne décrivent clairement l'application du CDM.

Pour pallier ce manque d'harmonisation, la plateforme Monitoring a développé une fiche d'information qui examine et décrit le CDM en détail. Cette fiche d'information vise non seulement à soutenir les membres du Réseau CTU de la SCTO, mais aussi à épauler tous les acteurs de la recherche clinique en Suisse.

La fiche d'information étant librement accessible à des tiers en dehors de la SCTO, il est important de suivre les instructions générales figurant sur la page de couverture.

OUTILS

Monitoring Visit Report and Monitoring Plan – des modèles pratiques et clairement structurés

Les modèles conviviaux Monitoring Visit Report et Monitoring Plan ont été développés par la Plateforme Monitoring de la SCTO. Ces derniers visent à harmoniser la documentation des visites de monitoring et les plans de monitoring, ce qui est particulièrement important pour les études multicentriques. Toutefois, les modèles ne sont pas seulement bénéfiques aux études multicentriques au sein du Réseau CTU, mais aussi pour tous les centres qui effectuent des projets de recherche clinique.

Ces modèles sont librement accessibles à des tiers en dehors du Réseau CTU de la SCTO. Nous vous prions toutefois de suivre les instructions générales figurant sur les pages de couverture des modèles.

OUTILS

Vous planifiez le monitoring d’une étude clinique:
Avez-vous pris en compte tous les risques potentiels de l’étude?

Notre plateforme Monitoring est constituée d’une équipe de moniteurs expérimentés qui unissent leurs forces afin de développer des solutions pratiques pour le monitoring des études cliniques. Nous avons le plaisir d’annoncer la publication d’un ensemble de trois outils d’aide à l’organisation du monitoring. Utilisez-les pour trouver la meilleure stratégie de monitoring pour votre étude, en fonction de critères préétablis.
Les documents, initialement publiés en juin 2019, sont disponibles en anglais.

Vous pouvez télécharger et utiliser:

  • notre Guidelines for Risk-Based Monitoring révisé, publié en tant qu’annexe 3 des Guidelines for Good Operational Practice (GGOP), Version 2.0
  • notre nouveau Risk-Based Monitoring (RBM) Score Calculator, proposé sous la forme d’une feuille Excel à remplir
  • son instruction d’utilisation détaillée

Questions ou suggestions?

Si vous avez des questions générales sur le monitoring et désirez des réponses de spécialistes, ou bien tout simplement si vous souhaitez nous faire part de votre retour sur les ressources proposées, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter à l’adresse monitoring@scto.notexisting@nodomain.comch


Le monitoring en bref

Les moniteurs sont essentiels à la réussite d’une étude clinique. Alors que l’audit est au service de l’assurance qualité, le monitoring a le contrôle de la qualité pour objectif. Le monitoring permet de vérifier les processus d’une étude étape par étape. En résumé, l’objectif des moniteurs est de détecter et de résoudre les problèmes. De cette manière, ils évitent non seulement que les erreurs constatées se répètent, mais aussi que de nouvelles se produisent. Avant, pendant et après l’étude, ils évaluent si tout ce qui a été planifié, décrit et approuvé se déroule comme prévu.

Chaque étude doit être réalisée, enregistrée et annoncée correctement, c’est-à-dire qu’elle doit se conformer au protocole d’étude, aux procédures opératoires normalisées («Standard Operating Procedures»), aux bonnes pratiques cliniques («Good Clinical Practice») et aux exigences réglementaires pertinentes, autant d’aspects de l’assurance qualité. La profession de moniteur a progressé dans le monde entier pour diminuer les coûts des études, pour améliorer leur qualité et finalement pour les aider à atteindre des résultats constructifs. Les moniteurs sont d’efficaces défenseurs des processus et des personnes: ils s’assurent d’une part que les données des études sont exactes, complètes et vérifiables et d’autre part que les droits des participants sont protégés. Si les processus et les personnes sont protégés de cette manière, davantage d’études pourront être menées à terme avec succès.

Voulez-vous savoir comment les experts de la plateforme Monitoring canalisent leurs efforts? Pour de plus amples informations à ce sujet, consultez notre «fact sheet» (en anglais) ci-dessous.