Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Regulatory Affairs

The SCTO Platforms have their own website:
Tools & Resources: Our new website for academic clinical research professionals

With our new, user-friendly website, our platforms’ practical tools and resources are even more accessible for your day-to-day work. The website will be continually updated and expanded with additional tools, so it’s worth visiting regularly!

Visit www.sctoplatforms.ch


Coordination

ad interim Isabelle Guilleret, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, CRC Lausanne


ONLINE MAGAZINE

Keep up to date with Regulatory Affairs Watch

For the latest issue of the online magazine Regulatory Affairs Watch and all its previous issues visit the SCTO Platforms’ website: «Tools & Resources»

The online magazine Regulatory Affairs Watch (RA Watch) aims to reach a wide, national audience: human research professionals, investigators, (potential) sponsors, regulators, members of ethics committees, professional organisations and patient associations.

RA Watch shares, at regular intervals, news of a scientific and regulatory nature, from Switzerland and abroad: articles, events and publications. Furthermore, each issue features a deep dive on a particular topic, accompanied by views and opinions of different organisations. The online magazine is published in English only. 

The online magazine was launched in April 2019 by the Regulatory Affairs Platform. Learn more about their activities in the fact sheet below.

Show more
Hide
Tools

September 2020

Electronic health record systems: A study site assessment template for Swiss clinical research sites

More and more frequently, electronic health record (EHR) systems provide source data for case report forms (CRFs) in clinical trials and research projects. These EHR systems must fulfil special regulatory requirements to be compliant with ICH-GCP guidelines and data protection laws. However, according to a survey conducted by the SCTO’s Regulatory Affairs (RA) Platform in 2019, many Swiss academic clinical research sites are not fully aware of the regulatory requirements.

To address this problem, members of the platform created a study site assessment template for EHR systems. On the one hand, this template is intended to help study sites check the conformity of their EHR systems that host the source data for clinical trials and research projects. On the other hand, it should enable sponsor-investigators to assess the suitability of the EHR systems used by study sites involved in their studies.

The template is aimed at Swiss study sites as well as Swiss sponsor-investigators who perform academic clinical research. With this template, the RA Platform aims to provide general assistance and help sites keep apace with digital developments and thus remain competitive and attractive clinical research locations.

Because the template is freely accessible to third parties outside the SCTO, it is important to follow the general instructions on the template’s cover page
EHR System Study Site Assessment Template

Summary of the online survey outlining EHR system use, experience, and needs of clinical research professionals in Switzerland (conducted in early 2019): 
Electronic health record systems at Swiss clinical trials sites: Usage, experience, and needs


Regulatory Affairs in brief

Regulatory affairs is a relatively new professional field. It emerged in the 1980s, when governments worldwide became compelled to better protect the public. Such protection includes ensuring that all medicines reaching society are optimally safe and effective. Regulatory professionals were developed to integrate sound regulatory practices into projects from start to finish, keeping them on the right legal track.

In the realm of clinical research, they assist their peers with clinical trials applications, from early days, ensuring that all the documents and processes accompanying a project are in place and are of the quality required. Regulatory affairs professionals assist in reviewing study plans (protocol) and preparing submissions to national authorities, amending as needed, placing the trial in a registry, and following it through with the final study reports. All documents must be reviewed, complete, scientifically accurate, in regulatory compliance, and presented so as to facilitate the review and approval process of the ethics committees and – if needed – of the competent authorities.

Des résultats d’études cliniques fiables?
Misons sur la qualité.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Affaires réglementaires

Coordinatrice de la plateforme

Dr Séverine Méance, Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, CTU Lausanne

SCTO Regulatory Affairs Platform
Newsletter

RA Watch 5, mars 2021

One year of COVID-19, first lessons learnt

Read the online version of RA Watch 5 on one year of COVID-19

L’actualité réglementaire grâce à notre «Regulatory Affairs Watch»

La newsletter intitulée «Regulatory Affairs Watch (RA Watch)» s'adresse à un large public au niveau national: tous les professionnels impliqués dans la recherche sur l’être humain y compris les investigateurs, les promoteurs, les autorités, les membres des commissions d’éthique, divers associations professionnelles et organisations de patients.

La RA Watch newsletter partage régulièrement les nouveautés scientifico-réglementaires au niveau de la Suisse mais aussi de l’étranger (textes, évènements à venir, publications). Par ailleurs, dans chacun des numéros, un thème de fond pertinent («deep dive») est développé, accompagné d’avis et de positions de certaines organisations.

La newsletter est publiée en anglais et a été lancée en avril 2019 par notre plateforme Regulatory Affairs.

Sur notre page en anglais, vous trouverez l'édition actuelle ainsi que les versions archivés

Plus
Moins

Outils

septembre 2020

Les systèmes de dossiers médicaux électroniques dans la pratique de la recherche clinique: un modèle pour la vérification de la conformité pour les hôpitaux suisses

De plus en plus souvent, les systèmes de dossiers médicaux électroniques (Electronic Health Record (EHR) Systems) contenant les données de patients relevées lors de la pratique clinique alimentent les formulaires de récolte de données (CRF) dans le cadre de projets et d’études cliniques. Ces systèmes EHR doivent répondre à des exigences réglementaires particulières pour être conformes aux bonnes pratiques cliniques (ICH-GCP) et aux lois relatives à la protection des données. Toutefois, une enquête menée en 2019 par la plateforme Regulatory Affairs de la SCTO montre que de nombreux centres universitaires de recherche clinique n’ont pas une connaissance approfondie des exigences réglementaires.

Pour remédier à cet état de fait, les membres de la plateforme ont élaboré un modèle. D'une part, ce modèle est destiné à aider les sites à vérifier la conformité de leurs systèmes EHR qui hébergent les données sources pour les essais cliniques et les projets de recherche. D'autre part, il devrait permettre aux investigateurs-sponsors d'évaluer la pertinence des systèmes EHR utilisés par les sites d'étude participant à leurs études.

Ce modèle est destiné aux centres d'études suisses ainsi qu'aux investigateurs-sponsors du monde académique qui mènent des projets de recherche clinique en Suisse. La plateforme vise ainsi à fournir une assistance et un soutien aux centres de recherche pour qu'ils puissent être à jour quant aux développements numériques et, par conséquent, rester un site compétitif et attrayant pour la recherche clinique.

Ce Study Site Assessment Template est librement accessible à des tiers en dehors du Réseau CTU de la SCTO. Nous vous prions toutefois de suivre les instructions générales figurant sur la page de couverture
EHR System Study Site Assessment Template

Résumé de l'enquête en ligne sur l'utilisation, l'expérience et les besoins des chercheurs cliniciens en Suisse (menée au début de 2019): 
Electronic health record systems at Swiss clinical trials sites: Usage, experience, and needs


Les affaires réglementaires en bref

Le domaine des affaires réglementaires est relativement nouveau. Il s’est développé dans les années 1980, lorsque les gouvernements du monde entier ont été instamment priés de mieux protéger la santé publique. Les soins médicaux en faisaient également partie: tous les médicaments mis sur le marché devaient offrir une sécurité et une efficacité optimale. Les expert-e-s en affaires réglementaires ont été encouragés à appliquer de solides pratiques réglementaires du début à la fin et à maintenir les projets de recherche sur la bonne voie.

Aujourd’hui, les expert-e-s en affaires réglementaires dans le domaine de la recherche clinique sont impliqués à un stade précoce et soutiennent leurs équipes dans les procédures d’approbation des essais cliniques. Ils s’assurent que tous les documents et processus accompagnant un projet de recherche sont disponibles et respectent les exigences de qualité requises. Les spécialistes des affaires réglementaires participent à l’évaluation du plan d’étude (protocole) et à la préparation de la requête auprès des autorités nationales. Ils l’adaptent si nécessaire, inscrivent l’étude dans un registre et accompagnent le projet jusqu’au rapport final. Tous les documents doivent être vérifiés quant à leur conformité, leur intégralité et leur exactitude scientifique. Ils doivent être présentés de manière à faciliter le processus de contrôle et d’approbation des commissions d’éthique et, si nécessaire, des autorités compétentes.

Voulez-vous savoir comment les experts de la plateforme «Regulatory Affairs» canalisent leurs efforts? Pour de plus amples informations à ce sujet, consultez notre «fact sheet» (en anglais) ci-dessous.