Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

SwissPedNet

National Coordinator SwissPedNet

Pascale Wenger
+41 31 307 10 45

 

A research infrastructure to improve medicines for children

Children benefit from what has been learned from clinical studies with adults. Likewise, adults benefit from the findings of paediatrics, especially since many chronic diseases originate in early childhood. Long-term observations and longitudinal cohort studies in paediatrics contribute greatly to the understanding of disease evolvement. Therefore, it remains an enigma that paediatricians have never been funded to do research.

The Swiss Research Network of Clinical Pediatric Hubs (SwissPedNet) facilitates national research in paediatrics on a countrywide scale and thus meets an unmet and urgent need for paediatric translational and clinical studies.

During the early phases of life, many environmental factors modify and programme normal and abnormal development. A better understanding of the processes involved in early organ development provides unique opportunities for early disease recognition using novel biomarkers as well as early preventive and therapeutic strategies. The latter are the basis for the emerging field of personalised medicine in paediatrics.

SwissPedNet puts Swiss experts on a par with colleagues in other countries and enables them to perform nationally and internationally competitive clinical research. At the same time, they can obtain relevant Swiss data to implement evidence-based medicine for children.

SwissPedNet consists of nine clinical paediatric hubs throughout Switzerland within the university children’s hospitals in Basel, Bern, Geneva, Lausanne and Zurich as well as in Aarau, Bellinzona, Luzern and St. Gallen.
In addition, SwissPedNet integrates the platform SwissPedRegistry, which has services regarding the establishment of paediatric registries and cohort studies, with the platform SwissPedPha, which is the centre for paediatric pharmacology.

The SCTO is the backbone of the infrastructure SwissPedNet. There is close collaboration between the paediatric hubs and the SCTO network of CTUs. The SwissPedNet Coordinator is located at the SCTO Executive Office.

www.swisspednet.ch

SwissPedNet Logo

Un déroulement des études cliniques simplifié?
Harmonisons les processus.

Membres associés

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

SwissPedNet

Coordinatrice Nationale, SwissPedNet
SwissPedNet Logo

Structure de recherche pour la promotion des médicaments à usage pédiatrique

Les enfants profitent des connaissances provenant des études cliniques réalisées avec des adultes et, inversement, les adultes profitent des connaissances issues du savoir en provenance de la pédiatrie, car de nombreuses maladies chroniques trouvent leur origine dans la petite enfance. Les observations et les études pédiatriques de cohorte menées sur le long terme contribuent de manière déterminante à améliorer la compréhension de l’évolution d’une maladie. Dans ce contexte, le manque de promotion des projets de recherche menés par les pédiatres tel qu’il a été constaté dans le passé reste une énigme.

Au niveau national, SwissPedNet permet la recherche en pédiatrie qui faisait défaut jusqu’ici, couvrant ainsi un besoin urgent en matière d’études pédiatriques, translationnelles et cliniques.

Pendant les premiers stades de la vie, de nombreux facteurs environnementaux viennent déterminer la croissance normale ou pathologique. Une meilleure compréhension de ces processus de développement fournit des possibilités uniques de dépistage précoce des maladies, grâce à des biomarqueurs récents et, par la suite, à des stratégies préventives et thérapeutiques. Ces dernières constituent la base de la médecine personnalisée en pédiatrie, un domaine encore émergent.

SwissPedNet met les spécialistes suisses à égalité avec leurs collègues à l’étranger et rend ainsi possible une recherche clinique compétitive au niveau international, au même titre que l’échange des données suisses pour la réalisation d’une médecine pédiatrique basée sur l’évidence.

SwissPedNet est constitué de neuf centres cliniques en pédiatrie situés dans les hôpitaux universitaires pédiatriques de Bâle, de Berne, de Genève, de Lausanne et de Zurich ainsi que dans les hôpitaux d’Aarau, de Bellinzone, de Lucerne et de Saint-Gall.
SwissPedNet comprend également deux plateformes: SwissPedRegistry – pour les prestations liées à la création de registres et les études de cohorte pédiatriques – et SwissPedPha, le centre de pharmacologie pédiatrique.

La SCTO constitue l’épine dorsale de l’infrastructure de SwissPedNet. Une collaboration étroite existe entre les centres pédiatriques et le réseau CTU de la SCTO. La coordinatrice nationale de SwissPedNet est rattachée à la SCTO.


Publications

Pour en savoir plus sur SwissPedNet consultez nos Publications de notre réseau.