Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Patients help shape clinical research

For patients

The success of clinical research in Switzerland is dependent not only on the goodwill of patients but also increasingly on their active involvement. Because in fact, the real experts on diseases are the patients themselves. Through their experience with a disease or condition, patients know best what matters most to them. By sharing this specific knowledge, they can contribute to the quality, appropriateness, relevance, and credibility of clinical research.
 

Access to knowledge and training instruments

In order for patients to be able to competently bring their perspective into the design and conduct of clinical trials, they need access to related education opportunities and objective, scientifically reliable information that is easy to understand. Involving well-trained patients in clinical research can improve study design and outcomes.

The SCTO strives to provide support and a platform for people who are affected by clinical research and who would like to become actively involved in it. That is why we make a point of including the voice of patients and the public at events and why we participate in the European Patients’ Academy on Therapeutic Innovation (EUPATI). EUPATI offers training, further education courses, and training tools for both patients and representatives of patient organisations. This includes a one-year expert training programme, a toolbox, and an online collection of resources. EUPATI’s National Platform in Switzerland, EUPATI CH, provides patients access to these tools and serves as the national point of contact.
 

Valuable partners in clinical research

We explain how patients can become more involved in clinical research and what exactly the concept of patient and public involvement (PPI) means in our PPI Fact Sheet in the PPI section of our website.

Additional links:

  • GET-IT Glossary with definitions of health research terms in plain language
  • www.eupati.eu with EUPATI's toolbox and training opportunities

Des résultats d’études cliniques fiables?
Misons sur la qualité.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

AIDER ACTIVEMENT À FAÇONNER LA RECHERCHE CLINIQUE

POUR LES PATIENTES ET PATIENTS

Le succès de la recherche clinique en Suisse dépend non seulement de la bonne volonté des patientes et patients, mais aussi, et de plus en plus, de leur participation active. En effet, les véritables experts des maladies sont les patient·e·s elles-/eux-mêmes. Grâce à leur expérience d’une maladie ou d’une affection, les patient·e·s savent mieux que quiconque ce qui est le plus important pour elles/eux. En partageant ce savoir unique, elles/ils peuvent contribuer à la qualité, à l'adéquation, à la pertinence et à la crédibilité de la recherche clinique.
 

Accès aux connaissances et aux outils de formation

Afin de pouvoir intégrer leurs préoccupations de manière compétente dans le développement et la réalisation d'études cliniques, les patientes et patients doivent avoir accès à des formations continues appropriées et à des informations scientifiquement fiables, objectives et compréhensibles. Des patientes et patients bien formés peuvent ainsi améliorer le design expérimental des études et leurs résultats.

Nous avons pour objectif de soutenir et de fournir une plateforme à toutes les parties prenantes affectées par la recherche clinique souhaitant s'impliquer activement. Pour ce faire, nous nous efforçons de faire entendre la voix des patient·e·s et du public lors d’événements. Nous participons également à EUPATI, l'Académie européenne des patient·e·s. Celle-ci propose des formations de base, des formations continues ainsi que des outils éducatifs destinés aux patientes et patients intéressés ainsi qu'aux représentant·e·s d’organisations de patients. Il s'agit notamment d'un cours d'experts d'un an, d'une boîte à outils et d'un recueil de ressources en ligne. La plateforme nationale EUPATI Suisse apporte son soutien pour la transmission de ces outils et agit en tant que point de contact national.
 

Des partenaires importants dans la recherche clinique

Notre «Fact Sheet PPI» (Patient and Public Involvement), disponible sur la page Implication des patient·e·s et du public, précise ce que l'on entend par le concept de l’implication des patientes, des patients et du public. Celle-ci indique également comment impliquer davantage les patientes et patients au sein de la recherche clinique.

Liens complémentaires:

  • GET-IT Glossary — Plain language definitions of health research terms (en anglais)
  • www.eupati.eu — EUPATI toolbox and training (en anglais)