Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Today's clinical research is tomorrow's medicine

For researchers and study personnel

Systematic, targeted development of young researchers

In order for Switzerland to remain an attractive location to conduct clinical trials, academic clinical research needs to have well-trained personnel that is able to conduct trials according to professional standards. The SCTO is committed to ensuring that interesting training and further education opportunities on current topics in clinical research are available to researchers. We also coordinate activities that implement the Federal Office of Public Health’s national roadmap for developing the next generation of clinical researchers. One impressive result of this roadmap is the Clinical Research Careers website, which helps guide young physicians along their career path with a variety of national support instruments.
 

Services for smoothly conducting clinical trial projects

The SCTO’s Clinical Trial Unit (CTU) Network provides all the services needed to smoothly conduct clinical trial projects. In addition, each CTU coordinates an SCTO Platform, which serves as a contact point for questions and focuses on one of the following key areas in clinical research: auditing, education, data management, monitoring, project management, regulatory affairs, safety, and statistics and methodology. SCTO Platforms offer clinical research professionals practical, freely accessible resources for their daily work on the Tools & Resources website.
 

Support for multicentre, multinational trials

One of the main objectives of our collaboration with the European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN) is to help researchers in Switzerland gain access to research infrastructures in Europe. ECRIN offers comprehensive management and consulting services for researchers involved in multicentre, multinational trials.
 

Patient and public involvement

Researchers who are planning a clinical research project and applying for potential funding are increasingly being required to document their plans for actively involving patients and the public (PPI) in the design and implementation of their research projects. Our PPI Fact Sheet explains what exactly is behind the concept of PPI, where and when PPI is possible, and who should be involved. In addition, our PPI Guide for Researchers helps researchers identify opportunities to include effective and meaningful PPI in their clinical trials.

For more information on these and other PPI-related topics, please visit the PPI section of our website.

Elaboration de solutions plus abouties?
Favorisons la communication entre les acteurs.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

La recherche clinique d’aujourd’hui est la médecine de demain

CHERCHEUR·E·S ET PERSONNEL D’ÉTUDE

Promotion ciblée et systématique des jeunes chercheur·e·s   

La recherche clinique universitaire a besoin de professionnel·le·s bien formés, capables de mener des études dans les règles de l’art, et garantissant ainsi le maintien de la Suisse comme lieu attractif pour la réalisation d’essais cliniques. Nous nous engageons à fournir aux chercheur·e·s, et au personnel les entourant, une palette intéressante de formations continues et de possibilités de perfectionnement sur des thèmes actuels de la recherche clinique. Nous coordonnons également la mise en œuvre de la Feuille de route pour promouvoir la relève dans la recherche clinique de l'Office fédéral de la santé publique. L’un des résultats de cette feuille de route est le site Internet Clinical Research Careers, qui a pour but d’accompagner les jeunes médecins-chercheur·e·s tout au long de leur carrière, en proposant une offre variée au niveau national.
 

Une réalisation sans faille des projets de recherche clinique

Le réseau des Clinical Trial Units (CTUs) offre tous les services nécessaires au bon déroulement des projets de recherche clinique. En outre, chaque CTU coordonne une plateforme SCTO qui fait office de point de contact en cas de questions et se concentre sur un domaine clé de la recherche clinique: audit, formation, gestion des données, monitoring, gestion de projets, affaires réglementaires, safety, statistiques et méthodologie. Les plateformes SCTO développent des outils pratiques pour le travail quotidien des professionnel·le·s de la recherche clinique. Ces derniers sont librement accessibles sur le site Tools & Resources.


Soutien aux études multicentriques et multinationales

L'un des principaux objectifs de la collaboration entre la SCTO et le réseau européen d'infrastructures de recherche (ECRIN) est d’aider les chercheur·e·s suisses à accéder aux infrastructures de recherche en Europe. Cet accès propose une large gamme de services de gestion et de conseils pour les chercheur·e·s impliqués dans des études multicentriques et multinationales.
 

Implication des patient·e·s et du public (IPP) 

Les chercheur·e·s qui planifient un projet de recherche clinique et qui cherchent à obtenir d'éventuels financements sont de plus en plus souvent invités à documenter leurs plans d'implication active des patient·e·s et du public (IPP) dans la conception et la réalisation de leurs projets de recherche. Notre «Fact Sheet IPP» précise ce que l'on entend par le concept IPP, où et quand cette implication peut avoir lieu et qui doit être impliqué. De plus, notre «Guide for researchers to address PPI in clinical trials» aide les chercheur·e·s à identifier les possibilités d'une implication efficace et pertinente des patient·e·s et du public dans leur projet de recherche.

Vous trouverez ces informations sur notre page Implication des patients et du public.