Looking for better solutions?
We promote dialogue between stakeholders.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Protection vs medical progress: finding the right balance

For authorities

There is no medical progress without clinical research. Laws and directives ensure that people who participate in clinical studies are adequately protected. Too much protection makes medical progress impossible, and too little protection puts the health of study participants at risk. 

In order to find the right balance between protection and progress, an ongoing dialogue is needed between authorities, the public, and researchers from both academia and industry. And to find globally viable solutions, exchanging information and ideas with other countries is necessary.

The SCTO offers platforms for this dialogue on its own initiative and upon request. For example, SCTO representatives are regularly involved in discussions with swissethics, the Swiss Ethics Committees on research involving humans.

In addition, experts from the SCTO network actively participate in working groups to implement the Human Research Act in a practice-oriented way. Open discussions between researchers and authorities help them to tackle challenges together.

Une recherche clinique sans frontières?
Favorisons la collaboration internationale.

Membres associés

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Protection ou progrès médical: un juste équilibre est nécessaire

Autorités

Le progrès médical est impensable sans la recherche clinique. Les lois et les directives garantissent que les personnes participant à des études sont suffisamment bien protégées. Une protection trop forte rend impossible le progrès médical, tandis qu’une protection trop faible constitue une menace pour les participants.

Un dialogue continuel entre le public, les autorités et les chercheurs issus de l’académie et de l’industrie est nécessaire pour trouver le juste équilibre entre la protection et le progrès. De plus, un échange avec les autres pays est nécessaire en vue d’obtenir des solutions viables.

La SCTO propose elle-même ou sur demande des plateformes permettant ce dialogue. A titre d’exemple, un échange a régulièrement lieu entre des représentants de la SCTO et swissethics, les commissions d’éthique suisses relative à la recherche sur l’être humain.

De plus, des experts du réseau SCTO collaborent à des groupes de travail afin de mettre en œuvre la loi relative à la recherche sur l’être humain axée sur la pratique. Le dialogue ouvert entre les chercheurs et les autorités permet d’aborder en commun les défis à relever.

  • Plus d'informations sur notre réseau