Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Patient and public involvement

PATIENT AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT (PPI) PROJECT MANAGER

Tamara Kohler
+41 31 307 10 46

Patient and public involvement in clinical research

A partnership based on both mutual trust and transparent communication is what forms the foundation of a dialogue between researchers and those affected by research. The SCTO promotes this dialogue and advocates for the support and implementation of patient and public involvement (PPI) in academic clinical research.

What exactly is PPI?

Patient and public involvement (PPI) in clinical research can be defined as research that is carried out with or by patients or members of the public instead of to, about, or for them. It means they are involved in a research project or initiative as equal partners, for example by:

  • working with research funding organisations to prioritise proposed research projects according to their relevance for those affected by the research
  • providing advice on a specific project as a member of a decision-making body
  • contributing to research information materials by providing feedback on them or helping develop them.

Our PPI Fact Sheet explains where and when PPI is possible and who should be involved. We prepared this fact sheet in close collaboration with the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF).

Sustainable implementation

One of our most important strategic objectives for the 2021–2024 funding period is to promote PPI in academic clinical research and implement it in a sustainable manner. We view compensation as one aspect of sustainability in this context, which is why we advocate for financial compensation that is based on the principles of fairness. This demonstrates that the contributions patients and the public make are valuable and appreciated.

To facilitate the compensation of patients and representatives of the public for their research contributions, we have developed a PPI remuneration policy that can be used by clinical research projects in our network. Our SCTO Remuneration Policy for Patient and Public Involvement (PPI) Activities also provides guidelines for reimbursing travel and accommodation expenditures.

What local and national PPI initiatives and projects currently exist in the field of academic clinical research?

As a first step toward answering this question, we worked together with our partner organisations.* Using an online survey, a multistakeholder working group identified and characterised a wide variety of PPI initiatives and projects. The results of this survey (as of April 2022) are available on our “PPI mapping” page.

 

*Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS), Swiss Personalized Health Network (SPHN), Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research (SAKK)

National PPI hub

This image depicts our initial thoughts on how this national PPI hub could be structured. A central element of the hub is a patient advisory panel consisting of a limited but diverse number of patient representatives. The panel’s main task is to advise the hub’s members and function as a think tank.

Guidance for researchers

PPI is also an important topic for institutions that fund clinical research projects, for example the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF). The SNSF includes PPI representatives in the international evaluation panel for its Investigator Initiated Clinical Trials (IICT) programme; these representatives evaluate the PPI aspects of proposed clinical trials.

Our PPI Guide for Researchers helps researchers identify opportunities to include effective and meaningful PPI in their clinical trials. We prepared this fact sheet in close collaboration with the SNSF.

Additional links:

Des résultats d’études cliniques fiables?
Misons sur la qualité.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

Implication des patient·e·s et du public

PATIENT AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT (PPI) PROJECT MANAGER

Tamara Kohler
+41 31 307 10 46

Implication des patient·e·s et du public dans la recherche clinique

La confiance mutuelle et une approche transparente fondée sur le partenariat constituent la base du dialogue entre les chercheur·e·s et les personnes concernées. Nous soutenons ce dialogue entre les patient·e·s et les chercheur·e·s et nous nous engageons à mettre en œuvre et à promouvoir l’implication des patient·e·s et du public (IPP) au sein de la recherche clinique académique.

Qu'entend-on exactement par l’IPP?

L’implication des patient·e·s et du public (IPP) (en anglais: Patient and Public Involvement, PPI) dans la recherche clinique désigne des travaux menés avec ou par les patient·e·s et les membres du public plutôt que des activités leur étant apportées, les concernant ou leur étant destinées. Cela signifie participer en tant que partenaire à part entière à un projet ou à une initiative de recherche, par exemple en:

  • collaborant avec les organismes de financement de la recherche afin de prioriser les projets de recherche en fonction de leur pertinence pour les personnes concernées;
  • proposant des conseils en tant que membre d'un organe de décision dans un projet donné;
  • participant à des supports d'information sur la recherche, en les commentant ou en contribuant à leur conception.

Notre «Fact Sheet IPP» explique où et quand la participation peut avoir lieu et qui doit être impliqué. Elle a été préparée en étroite collaboration avec le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS).

Mise en œuvre durable

L’un de nos principaux objectifs stratégiques pour la période de financement 2021–2024 est de promouvoir l’IPP au sein de la recherche clinique académique suisse et de l’implémenter de manière durable. Dans ce contexte, «durable» signifie également que nous prônons une compensation financière juste, basée sur les principes d’équité. Cela souligne que les contributions des patient·e·s et du public sont précieuses et appréciées.

Pour atteindre nos objectifs, nous avons élaboré une politique de rémunération destinée aux activités d’implication des patient·e·s et du public (IPP), qui réglemente la rémunération des patient·e·s et des représentant·e·s du public dans le cadre des projets de recherche clinique de notre réseau. Ces directives décrit également les conditions-cadres du remboursement des éventuels coûts de transport et d’hébergement.

Les directives sont également disponibles en italien: «Coinvolgimento di pazienti e pubblico: direttiva sulla remunerazione della SCTO».

Quels sont les initiatives et projets locaux et nationaux actuels dans le domaine de la recherche clinique académique en Suisse?

Dans un premier temps, nous nous sommes penché·e·s sur cette question en collaborant avec nos organisations partenaires*. Dans le cadre d’un groupe de travail multipartite et à l’aide d’une enquête en ligne, nous avons identifié et caractérisé un grand nombre d’initiatives et projets IPP existants. Vous trouverez les résultats de cette enquête (état avril 2022) sur la page consacrée au mapping de l’IPP.

 

*Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales (ASSM), Swiss Personalized Health Network (SPHN), Groupe Suisse de Recherche Clinique sur le Cancer (SAKK)

Hub national IPP

Cette figure (en anglais) illustre nos premières réflexions sur la manière dont ce hub national IPP pourrait être structuré. L'élément central est un conseil consultatif de patient·e·s, composé d'un nombre limité et diversifié de représentant·e·s des patientes et patients. Son rôle principal est de conseiller les membres du hub IPP et d’agir en tant que groupe de réflexion.

Aider les chercheur·e·s à s'orienter

L’IPP est également une préoccupation majeure des organismes de financement de projets de recherche clinique comme le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS). Les représentant·e·s de l’IPP sont membres à part entière du panel d'évaluation international du programme «Investigator Initiated Clinical Trials (IICT)» et évaluent les aspects de l’IPP des projets soumis.

Notre «Guide for researchers to address PPI in clinical trials» (en anglais) aide les chercheur·e·s à identifier les possibilités d'une participation efficace et pertinente des patient·e·s et du public à leur essai clinique. Il a été élaboré en étroite collaboration avec le FNS.

Liens complémentaires: