Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Patient and public involvement

PATIENT AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT (PPI) PROJECT MANAGER

Tamara Kohler
+41 31 307 10 46

Patient and public involvement in clinical research

A partnership based on both mutual trust and transparent communication is what forms the foundation of a dialogue between researchers and those affected by research. The SCTO promotes this dialogue and advocates for the support and implementation of patient and public involvement (PPI) in academic clinical research.

What exactly is PPI?

Patient and public involvement (PPI) in clinical research can be defined as research that is carried out with or by patients or members of the public instead of to, about, or for them. It means they are involved in a research project or initiative as equal partners, for example by:

  • working with research funding organisations to prioritise proposed research projects according to their relevance for those affected by the research
  • providing advice on a specific project as a member of a decision-making body
  • contributing to research information materials by providing feedback on them or helping develop them.

Our PPI Fact Sheet explains where and when PPI is possible and who should be involved. We prepared this fact sheet in close collaboration with the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF).

Sustainable implementation

One of our most important strategic objectives for the 2021–2024 funding period is to promote PPI in academic clinical research and implement it in a sustainable manner. We view compensation as one aspect of sustainability in this context, which is why we advocate for financial compensation that is based on the principles of fairness. This demonstrates that the contributions patients and the public make are valuable and appreciated.

To facilitate the compensation of patients and representatives of the public for their research contributions, we have developed a PPI remuneration policy that can be used by clinical research projects in our network. Our SCTO Remuneration Policy for Patient and Public Involvement (PPI) Activities also provides guidelines for reimbursing travel and accommodation expenditures.

What local and national PPI initiatives and projects currently exist in the field of academic clinical research?

As a first step toward answering this question, we worked together with our partner organisations.* Using an online survey, a multistakeholder working group identified and characterised a wide variety of PPI initiatives and projects. The results of this survey (as of April 2022) are available on our “PPI mapping” page.

 

*Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences (SAMS), Swiss Personalized Health Network (SPHN), Swiss Group for Clinical Cancer Research (SAKK)

National PPI hub

This image depicts our initial thoughts on how this national PPI hub could be structured. A central element of the hub is a patient advisory panel consisting of a limited but diverse number of patient representatives. The panel’s main task is to advise the hub’s members and function as a think tank.

Guidance for researchers

PPI is also an important topic for institutions that fund clinical research projects, for example the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF). The SNSF includes PPI representatives in the international evaluation panel for its Investigator Initiated Clinical Trials (IICT) programme; these representatives evaluate the PPI aspects of proposed clinical trials.

Our PPI Guide for Researchers helps researchers identify opportunities to include effective and meaningful PPI in their clinical trials. We prepared this fact sheet in close collaboration with the SNSF.

Additional links:

Bessere Lösungen erarbeiten?
Wir fördern den Dialog zwischen den Akteuren.

Assoziiertes Mitglied

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung

Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung in der klinischen Forschung

Gegenseitiges Vertrauen und ein transparenter und partnerschaftlicher Umgang bilden die Grundlage für den Dialog zwischen Forschenden und Betroffenen. Wir unterstützen diesen Dialog und setzen uns für die Umsetzung und Förderung der Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung (Patient and Public Involvement, kurz PPI) in der akademischen klinischen Forschung ein.

Was genau versteht man unter PPI?

Patient and Public Involvement (PPI) in der klinischen Forschung kann als Forschung definiert werden, welche mit oder von statt an, über oder für Patienten und Patientinnen bzw. Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Öffentlichkeit durchgeführt wird. Es bedeutet, als gleichberechtigte Partnerin oder Partner an einem Forschungsprojekt oder einer -initiative beteiligt zu sein, indem man z. B.:

  • mit Forschungsförderern zusammenarbeitet, um Forschungsvorhaben nach Relevanz für die Betroffenen zu priorisieren;
  • Beratung anbietet als Mitglied eines Entscheidungsgremiums in einem bestimmten Projekt;
  • an Forschungsinformationsmaterialien mitwirkt, indem man sie kommentiert oder mitgestaltet.

Unser PPI Fact Sheet führt aus, wo und wann die Beteiligung stattfinden kann und wen man involvieren sollte. Es wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) erstellt.

Nachhaltige Implementierung

Eines unserer wichtigsten strategischen Ziele für die Förderperiode 2021–2024 ist es, PPI innerhalb der akademischen klinischen Forschung in der Schweiz zu fördern und nachhaltig zu implementieren. Nachhaltig bedeutet für uns in diesem Zusammenhang auch, dass wir uns für einen fairen finanziellen Ausgleich einsetzen, der sich an den Grundsätzen der Gerechtigkeit orientiert. Dies zeigt, dass die Beiträge von Patientinnen und Patienten sowie der Öffentlichkeit wertvoll sind und geschätzt werden.

Für klinische Forschungsprojekte unseres Netzwerks haben wir daher eine Richtlinie erarbeitet, welche die Vergütung von Patientinnen und Patienten oder Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der Öffentlichkeit regelt. Diese «Renumeration Policy for Patient and Public Involvement (PPI) Activities» (in Englisch) beschreibt zudem die Rahmenbedingungen für die Erstattung anfallender Reise-/Hotelkosten.

Welche lokalen oder nationalen Initiativen und Projekte gibt es derzeit im Bereich der akademischen klinischen Forschung?

In einem ersten Schritt sind wir dieser Frage gemeinsam mit unseren Partnerorganisationen* nachgegangen. Mittels der uns in einer Online-Umfrage zur Verfügung gestellten Informationen haben wir im Rahmen einer Multistakeholder-Arbeitsgruppe eine Vielzahl von PPI-Initiativen und -Projekten identifiziert und charakterisiert. Das Ergebnis dieser Umfrage (Stand April 2022) finden Sie unter PPI-Mapping.

 

*Schweizerische Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften (SAMW), Swiss Personalized Health Network (SPHN), Schweizerische Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Klinische Krebsforschung (SAKK)

Nationaler PPI-Hub

Die Grafik zeigt erste Überlegungen zum möglichen Aufbau des nationalen PPI-Hubs (in Englisch). Zentrales Element bildet dabei ein Patientenbeirat, der sich aus einer begrenzten, aber vielfältigen Anzahl von Patientenvertreterinnen und -vertretern zusammensetzt. Seine Hauptaufgabe besteht darin, die Mitglieder des Hubs zu beraten und als Denkfabrik zu fungieren.

Orientierungshilfe für Forschende

PPI ist auch für Förderinstitutionen von klinischen Forschungsprojekten wie den Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF) ein zentrales Thema. So sind PPI-Vertreterinnen und -Vertreter Mitglieder des internationalen Evaluationspanels des SNF-Programms Investigator Initiated Clinical Trials und bewerten die PPI-Aspekte der geplanten klinischen Studien.

Unser «Guide for researchers to address PPI in clinical trials» (in Englisch) unterstützt Forschende, Möglichkeiten für eine effektive und sinnvolle Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung in ihrer klinischen Studie zu ermitteln. Er wurde in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem SNF erstellt.

Weiterführende Links: