Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Patients help shape clinical research

For patients

Would you like to participate in a clinical trial? Or would you like to contribute to and shape research with your experience as a patient?

The success of clinical research in Switzerland is dependent not only on the goodwill of patients but also increasingly on their active involvement. In fact, the real experts on diseases are the patients themselves. Through their experience with a disease or condition, patients know best what matters most to them. By sharing this unique knowledge, they can contribute to the quality, appropriateness, relevance, and credibility of clinical research. From an ethical point of view, one can argue that patients should have an influence on research that affects them, along the lines of the motto “Nothing about us without us!” For in the end, today’s clinical research is tomorrow’s medicine.
 

Patient and public involvement (PPI)

An environment characterised by mutual trust, reciprocity, and transparent communication lays the foundation for a dialogue between researchers and those affected by research. The SCTO supports this dialogue between researchers and patients and advocates for patient and public involvement (PPI) in academic clinical research. One of our most important strategic goals for the 2021–2024 funding period is to establish a centralised coordination hub and point of contact for all PPI stakeholders. This PPI hub’s activities will span organisations and diseases.

What exactly is behind the concept of patient and public involvement? How can patients and the public become more involved in clinical research? What information is available to them, so they can develop the necessary expertise? The SCTO can answer these questions for both the public and researchers and thus provide some orientation. Learn more about patient and public involvement in our PPI Fact Sheet.
 

SCTO’s contributions to PPI

The SCTO aims to support and provide a platform for people who are affected by clinical research and would like to become actively involved in it. One way the SCTO does this is by participating in EUPATI, the European Patients’ Academy on Therapeutic Innovation. The SCTO also strives to include the voice of patients and the public at events.


More information:

Une recherche clinique plus efficace?
Misons sur la transparence.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

LES PATIENT(E)S AIDENT À FAÇONNER LA RECHERCHE CLINIQUE

POUR LES PATIENT(E)S

Souhaitez-vous participer à une étude clinique? Ou aimeriez-vous contribuer et façonner la recherche avec votre expérience en tant que patient ou patiente?

Le succès de la recherche clinique en Suisse dépend non seulement de la bonne volonté des patient(e)s, mais aussi de plus en plus de leur participation active. En effet, les véritables experts des maladies sont les patient(e)s elles-/eux-mêmes. Grâce à leur expérience d’une maladie ou d’une affection, les patient(e)s savent mieux que quiconque ce qui est le plus important pour elles/eux. En partageant ce savoir unique, elles/ils peuvent contribuer à la qualité, à l'adéquation, à la pertinence et à la crédibilité de la recherche clinique. D'un point de vue éthique, et selon le principe «Rien sur nous sans nous!», on peut faire valoir que les patient(e)s ont leur mot à dire dans les recherches qui les concernent. Car au final, la recherche clinique d'aujourd'hui c’est la médecine de demain.
 

Le concept de l’implication des patient(e)s et du public

La confiance mutuelle et une approche transparente fondée sur le partenariat constituent la base du dialogue entre les chercheur(e)s et les personnes concernées. La SCTO soutient le dialogue entre les patient(e)s et les chercheur(e)s et s'engage à mettre en œuvre et à promouvoir l’implication des patient(e)s et du public (PPI) au sein de la recherche clinique universitaire. L'un de nos principaux objectifs stratégiques pour la période de financement 2021 – 2024 est la mise en place d’un point de contact et de coordination central pour toutes les parties prenantes, indépendant de la pathologie investiguée et des organisations impliquées.

Qu'entend-on exactement par le concept de l’implication des patient(e)s et du public? Comment les patient(e)s et le public peuvent-ils s’impliquer davantage dans la recherche clinique? Quelles informations sont à leur disposition pour acquérir l'expertise nécessaire? La SCTO offre ici des conseils tant au public intéressé qu'aux chercheur(e)s. Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre fiche d'information sur le PPI ci-dessous.
 

Collaboration active

La SCTO a pour objectif de soutenir et de fournir une plateforme à toutes les parties prenantes affectées par la recherche clinique et qui souhaitent s'impliquer activement. Pour ce faire, la SCTO participe notamment à EUPATI, l'Académie européenne des patient(e)s sur l’innovation thérapeutique. La SCTO s'efforce également de faire entendre la voix des patient(e)s et du public lors d’événements.

Pour plus d'informations