Conducting clinical research across borders?
We promote international collaboration.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Patients help shape clinical research

For patients

Would you like to participate in a clinical trial? Or would you like to contribute to and shape research with your experience as a patient?

The success of clinical research in Switzerland is dependent not only on the goodwill of patients but also increasingly on their active involvement. In fact, the real experts on diseases are the patients themselves. Through their experience with a disease or condition, patients know best what matters most to them. By sharing this unique knowledge, they can contribute to the quality, appropriateness, relevance, and credibility of clinical research. From an ethical point of view, one can argue that patients should have an influence on research that affects them, along the lines of the motto “Nothing about us without us!” For in the end, today’s clinical research is tomorrow’s medicine.
 

Patient and public involvement (PPI)

An environment characterised by mutual trust, reciprocity, and transparent communication lays the foundation for a dialogue between researchers and those affected by research. The SCTO supports this dialogue between researchers and patients and advocates for patient and public involvement (PPI) in academic clinical research. One of our most important strategic goals for the 2021–2024 funding period is to establish a centralised coordination hub and point of contact for all PPI stakeholders. This PPI hub’s activities will span organisations and diseases.

What exactly is behind the concept of patient and public involvement? How can patients and the public become more involved in clinical research? What information is available to them, so they can develop the necessary expertise? The SCTO can answer these questions for both the public and researchers and thus provide some orientation. Learn more about patient and public involvement in our PPI Fact Sheet.
 

SCTO’s contributions to PPI

The SCTO aims to support and provide a platform for people who are affected by clinical research and would like to become actively involved in it. One way the SCTO does this is by participating in EUPATI, the European Patients’ Academy on Therapeutic Innovation. The SCTO also strives to include the voice of patients and the public at events.


More information:

Klinische Forschung ohne Grenzen?
Wir setzen auf internationale Zusammenarbeit.

Assoziiertes Mitglied

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

DIE KLINISCHE FORSCHUNG AKTIV MITGESTALTEN

Für Patientinnen und Patienten

Möchten Sie an einer klinischen Studie teilnehmen? Oder möchten Sie als Patientin oder Patient Ihr Wissen in die Forschung einbringen und diese aktiv mitgestalten? 

Der Erfolg der klinischen Forschung in der Schweiz ist nicht nur vom Wohlwollen der Patienten und Patientinnen abhängig, sondern zunehmend auch von deren aktiven Mitarbeit. Denn die eigentlichen Expertinnen für Krankheiten sind die Patientinnen selbst. Durch ihre Erfahrung mit einer Krankheit oder einem Leiden wissen Patienten am besten, was für sie am wichtigsten ist. Indem sie dieses spezifische Wissen teilen, können sie zur Qualität, Angemessenheit, Relevanz und Glaubwürdigkeit der klinischen Forschung beitragen. Aus ethischer Sicht kann man argumentieren, dass Patientinnen einen Einfluss auf die Forschung haben sollten, die sie betrifft, nach dem Motto «Nichts über uns ohne uns!». Denn am Ende ist die klinische Forschung von heute die Medizin von morgen.


Das Konzept der Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung

Gegenseitiges Vertrauen und ein transparenter und partnerschaftlicher Umgang bilden die Grundlage für den Dialog zwischen Forschenden und Betroffenen. Die SCTO unterstützt den gelebten Dialog zwischen Patienten und Forschenden und setzt sich für die Umsetzung und Förderung der Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung (Patient and Public Involvement, PPI) in der akademischen klinischen Forschung ein. Eines unserer wichtigsten strategischen Ziele für die Förderperiode 2021–2024 ist die Einrichtung einer zentralen Koordinations- und Kontaktstelle für alle relevanten Stakeholder, die pathologieunabhängig ist und organisationsübergreifend arbeitet.

Was genau versteht man unter dem Konzept der Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung? Wie können Patientinnen vermehrt in die klinische Forschung involviert werden? Welche Informationen stehen ihnen zur Verfügung, um sich das notwendige Fachwissen anzueignen? Die SCTO bietet hier sowohl der interessierten Öffentlichkeit als auch Forschenden Orientierung. Erfahren Sie mehr dazu in unserem PPI-Factsheet.


Aktives Mitwirken

Die SCTO möchte jenen Betroffenen eine Plattform und Unterstützung bieten, die sich aktiv einbringen wollen. Deshalb engagiert sich die SCTO bei der Europäischen Patientenakademie (EUPATI) und legt Wert darauf, bei Anlässen immer auch die Stimme der Patientinnen und Patienten zu berücksichtigen.

Mehr Informationen