Striving for more reliable study results?
We focus on quality.

Associate members

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Clinical research requires an ongoing exchange between the parties involved

For the public and the media

Medical progress is important, but not at any price. It is up to each society to define for itself how high the price of medical progress should be. The right balance between risks and benefits depends on many factors and, ultimately, on an individual’s point of view. Public perception plays an important role as well.

To ensure medical progress, it is necessary to have mutual trust and an ongoing exchange between all the parties involved: including physicians, researchers, patients, industry and the public. Discussing the risks and benefits of clinical research is useful for all stakeholders and lays the foundation for better and more efficient medical care.

The SCTO liaises between stakeholders: for example by providing high-quality and independent information or by organising events and forums that allow direct interactions and promote discussions of controversial issues.

Should you have any questions about clinical research in Switzerland, please do not hesitate to contact us

Une recherche clinique plus efficace?
Misons sur la transparence.

Membres associés

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

La recherche clinique exige un échange constant entre les différents acteurs

Public et médias

Le progrès médical est essentiel, mais pas à n’importe quel prix. A chaque société de décider quel sera le prix à payer. Le rapport entre les bénéfices et les risques dépend de nombreux facteurs et, en fin de compte, de l’opinion de chacun. La perception du public va jouer ici un rôle prédominant.

Une confiance mutuelle et un échange continuel sont nécessaires entre tous les acteurs impliqués pour garantir le progrès médical: les médecins, les chercheurs, les patients et l’industrie – sans oublier le public. Un échange objectif sur les bénéfices et les risques de la recherche clinique est utile à tous et prépare le terrain pour des soins médicaux plus efficaces et de meilleure qualité.

La SCTO sert d’intermédiaire entre les acteurs: par exemple en fournissant des informations indépendantes et de qualité ou en organisant des événements et en mettant en place des forums qui permettent une interaction directe ainsi qu’un débat sur des thèmes controversés.

Contactez-nous si vous avez des questions relatives à la recherche clinique en Suisse.