Aiming to conduct more efficient clinical research?
We focus on transparency.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Today's clinical research is tomorrow's medicine

For researchers and study personnel

Systematic, targeted development of young researchers

In order for Switzerland to remain an attractive location to conduct clinical trials, academic clinical research needs to have well-trained personnel who are able to conduct studies according to professional standards. The Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) has mandated the SCTO to coordinate activities to implement the national roadmap for developing the next generation of clinical researchers. We are committed to making interesting training and further education opportunities on current topics in clinical research available to researchers.

 

Support for multicentre, multinational studies

One of the main objectives of the SCTO’s collaboration with the European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN) is to help researchers in Switzerland gain access to research infrastructures in Europe. This access opens up a wide range of management and consulting services for researchers involved in multicentre, multinational studies.

 

Patient and public involvement (PPI)

The SCTO supports the dialogue between researchers and patients and advocates for patient and public involvement (PPI) in academic clinical research. One of our most important strategic goals for the 2021–2024 performance period is to establish a centralised coordination hub and point of contact for all PPI stakeholders. This PPI hub’s activities will span organisations and diseases.

PPI is also a major focus of institutions that fund clinical research projects. For example, as part of its investigator-initiated clinical trials programme (IICT), the Swiss National Science Foundation (SFSF) is requesting applicants to document their efforts to actively involve patients, patient organisations, members of patients’ families, caregivers, and the public in the design and delivery of their research projects. PPI representatives are members of the programme’s international evaluation panel and evaluate the PPI aspects of the planned clinical trials.

More information about PPI:

  • Our PPI Fact Sheet explains the general concept of PPI, who can be involved in research, and when and where involvement is possible.
  • Our practical guide for researchers to address PPI in clinical trials offers support for researchers when they start planning a project and apply for potential funding to identify opportunities within their clinical trials that can inspire effective and meaningful PPI.

 

In order to successfully develop new treatments and improve existing medicines, it is essential for all those involved in clinical research to communicate and cooperate with one another. The SCTO does its part to help shape the best possible framework conditions for clinical research and establish the (inter)national contacts needed to do this.

More information:

Des résultats d’études cliniques fiables?
Misons sur la qualité.

Membre associé

La SCTO est une organisation autonome, fondée sur une initiative du Fonds National Suisse et de l’Académie Suisse des Sciences Médicales.

Depuis 2017, la SCTO est une infrastructure de recherche financée par le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation et par le Fonds National Suisse.

La recherche clinique d’aujourd’hui est la médecine de demain

CHERCHEUR(E)S ET PERSONNEL D’ÉTUDE

Promotion ciblée et systématique des jeunes chercheur(e)s   

La recherche clinique universitaire a besoin de professionnel(le)s bien formé(e)s, capables de mener des études dans les règles de l’art, garantissant ainsi le maintien de la Suisse comme lieu attractif pour les essais cliniques. Sur mandat de l'Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP), la SCTO coordonne et participe aux activités de mise en œuvre de la feuille de route nationale pour promouvoir la relève dans la recherche clinique. Nous nous engageons à fournir aux chercheur(e)s, et au personnel les entourant, une palette intéressante de formations continues et de possibilités de perfectionnement sur des thèmes actuels de la recherche clinique.
 

Soutien aux études multicentriques et multinationales

L'un des principaux objectifs de la collaboration entre la SCTO et le réseau européen d'infrastructures de recherche (ECRIN) est d’aider les chercheur(e)s suisses à accéder aux infrastructures de recherche en Europe. Cet accès ouvre une large gamme de services de gestion et de conseil pour les chercheur(e)s impliqués dans des études multicentriques et multinationales.
 

Implication des patient(e)s et du public (PPI)

La SCTO soutient le dialogue entre les chercheur(e)s et les patient(e)s et s'engage à promouvoir l’implication des patient(e)s et du public (Patient and Public Involvement, PPI) dans la recherche clinique universitaire. L'un de nos principaux objectifs stratégiques pour la période de financement 2021 – 2024 est la mise en place d’un point de contact et de coordination central pour toutes les parties prenantes, indépendant de la pathologie investiguée et des organisations impliquées.

L’implication des patient(e)s et du public (PPI) est également une préoccupation majeure des organisations de financement de projets de recherche clinique. Par exemple, dans le cadre de son programme IICT (Investigator Initiated Clinical Trials), le Fonds national suisse de la recherche scientifique (FNS) demande aux requérant(e)s de préciser comment elles/ils comptent impliquer les patient(e)s, leurs proches, les soignant(e)s, les organisations de patients, et le public (PPI) dans la conception et la mise en œuvre de leurs essais cliniques. Les représentant(e)s du PPI sont membres à part entière du panel d'évaluation international du programme IICT et évaluent les aspects PPI des projets soumis.

Vous trouverez plus de détail sur le concept PPI: qui peut être impliqué(e), où et quand cette participation est possible, dans notre fiche d'information PPI ci-dessous.

Pour développer avec succès de nouveaux traitements ou améliorer l’utilisation de substances actives connues ainsi que de médicaments existants, il est essentiel que tous les acteurs de la recherche clinique communiquent et coopèrent les uns avec les autres. À cette fin, la SCTO contribue à créer les meilleures conditions cadres possibles pour la recherche clinique et à établir les contacts (inter)nationaux nécessaires.

Pour plus d'informations: