Aiming to conduct more efficient clinical research?
We focus on transparency.

Associate member

The SCTO is an independent organisation and is based on a joint initiative of the Swiss National Science Foundation and the Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences.

As of 2017, the SCTO is a research infrastructure of national importance funded by the State Secretariat of Education, Research and Innovation and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Today's clinical research is tomorrow's medicine

For researchers and study personnel

Systematic, targeted development of young researchers

In order for Switzerland to remain an attractive location to conduct clinical trials, academic clinical research needs to have well-trained personnel who are able to conduct studies according to professional standards. The Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) has mandated the SCTO to coordinate activities to implement the national roadmap for developing the next generation of clinical researchers. We are committed to making interesting training and further education opportunities on current topics in clinical research available to researchers.

 

Support for multicentre, multinational studies

One of the main objectives of the SCTO’s collaboration with the European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN) is to help researchers in Switzerland gain access to research infrastructures in Europe. This access opens up a wide range of management and consulting services for researchers involved in multicentre, multinational studies.

 

Patient and public involvement (PPI)

The SCTO supports the dialogue between researchers and patients and advocates for patient and public involvement (PPI) in academic clinical research. One of our most important strategic goals for the 2021–2024 performance period is to establish a centralised coordination hub and point of contact for all PPI stakeholders. This PPI hub’s activities will span organisations and diseases.

PPI is also a major focus of institutions that fund clinical research projects. For example, as part of its investigator-initiated clinical trials programme (IICT), the Swiss National Science Foundation (SFSF) is requesting applicants to document their efforts to actively involve patients, patient organisations, members of patients’ families, caregivers, and the public in the design and delivery of their research projects. PPI representatives are members of the programme’s international evaluation panel and evaluate the PPI aspects of the planned clinical trials.

More information about PPI:

  • Our PPI Fact Sheet explains the general concept of PPI, who can be involved in research, and when and where involvement is possible.
  • Our practical guide for researchers to address PPI in clinical trials offers support for researchers when they start planning a project and apply for potential funding to identify opportunities within their clinical trials that can inspire effective and meaningful PPI.

 

In order to successfully develop new treatments and improve existing medicines, it is essential for all those involved in clinical research to communicate and cooperate with one another. The SCTO does its part to help shape the best possible framework conditions for clinical research and establish the (inter)national contacts needed to do this.

More information:

Verlässliche Studienergebnisse?
Wir setzen auf Qualität.

Assoziiertes Mitglied

Die SCTO ist eine eigenständige Organisation und basiert auf einer Initiative des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds und der Schweizerischen Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften.

Seit 2017 ist die SCTO eine vom Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sowie vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds geförderte Forschungsinfrastruktur von nationaler Bedeutung.

Die klinische Forschung von heute ist die Medizin von morgen

FÜR FORSCHENDE UND STUDIENPERSONAL

Gezielte und systematische Förderung des Nachwuchses

Damit die Schweiz in Zukunft als Durchführungsort klinischer Studien attraktiv ist und bleibt, braucht die akademische klinische Forschung gut ausgebildetes Personal, das fähig ist, Studien «lege artis» durchzuführen. Im Auftrag des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit (BAG) koordiniert die SCTO die Aktivitäten zur Umsetzung der nationalen Roadmap zur Nachwuchsförderung in der Klinischen Forschung. Wir setzen uns dafür ein, dass Forschenden zu aktuellen Themen rund um die klinische Forschung ein interessantes Trainings- und Weiterbildungsangebot zur Verfügung steht.

 

Support für multizentrische, multinationale Studien

Eines der Hauptziele der Zusammenarbeit zwischen der SCTO und dem European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN) ist, Forschenden in der Schweiz den Zugang zu Forschungsinfrastrukturen in Europa zu ermöglichen. Dieses bietet Forschenden umfassende Management- und Beratungsdienstleistungen für multizentrische, multinationale Studien.

 

Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung (PPI)

Die SCTO unterstützt den gelebten Dialog zwischen Forschenden und Patienten/innen und setzt sich für die Umsetzung und Förderung der Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung (Patient and Public Involvement, PPI) in der akademischen klinischen Forschung ein. Eines unserer wichtigsten strategischen Ziele für die Leistungsperiode 2021 – 2024 ist die Einrichtung einer zentralen Koordinations- und Kontaktstelle für alle relevanten Stakeholder, die pathologieunabhängig ist und organisationsübergreifend arbeitet.

Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung (PPI) ist auch für Förderinstitutionen von klinischen Forschungsprojekten ein zentrales Thema. So fordert der Schweizerische Nationalfonds (SNF) im Rahmen seines Programms «Investigator-initiated Clinical Trials» (IICT) die Gesuchstellerinnen und Gesuchsteller auf, ihre Pläne zur aktiven Einbindung von Patientinnen und Patienten, Patientenorganisationen, Familienangehörigen, Betreuungspersonen und der Öffentlichkeit (PPI) in die Gestaltung und Durchführung ihrer Forschungsprojekte zu dokumentieren. PPI-Vertreter/innen sind Mitglieder des internationalen Evaluationspanels des Programms und bewerten die PPI-Aspekte der geplanten klinischen Studien.

Mehr zum Thema PPI:

  • Unser PPI Fact Sheet führt aus, was genau man unter dem PPI-Konzept versteht, wo und wann diese Beteiligung stattfinden kann und wen man involvieren sollte.
  • Unser «Guide for researchers to address PPI in clinical trials» (in Englisch) unterstützt Forschende, die ein klinisches Forschungsprojekt planen und sich um mögliche Fördermittel bemühen, Möglichkeiten für eine effektive und sinnvolle Patienten- und Öffentlichkeitsbeteiligung in ihrer klinischen Studie zu ermitteln.

Um erfolgreich neue Therapien zu entwickeln oder alte Wirkstoffe zu verbessern, ist die Zusammenarbeit und der Dialog zwischen all diesen Akteuren erforderlich. Die SCTO hilft mit, Rahmenbedingungen für die klinische Forschung zu optimieren und die notwendigen (inter)nationalen Kontakte herzustellen. 

 

Mehr Informationen